Subfloor - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2012, 12:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

subfloor


I'm installing 7 in hickory wood floors and have a simple question. Our home is about 50 years old and the subfloor is 7/16. There are several spots that are "soft". I'm goign to replace those boards but i didn't knwo if 7/16 is thick enough or if I should replace all teh subfloor with 3/4. Thanks

Advertisement

no clue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 03:33 PM   #2
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 4,198
Rewards Points: 2,254
Default

subfloor


So, you have only one layer of plywood that is 7/16" thick? Is it plywood? That is terrible!

Jaz

Advertisement

__________________
Tile 4 You LLC Troy, MI

DITRA Installs - KERDI Watertight-Mold-Free Showers. I have NEVER made a mistake, I thought I did ONCE, but, I was WRONG! A+ BBB rating - est. 1987 - over 50 yrs. exp.
JazMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 04:43 PM   #3
Pro
 
JetSwet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lagrangeville NY
Posts: 1,010
Rewards Points: 502
Default

subfloor


Sorry about Jaz reaction he doesn't get out much lol.
Best to replace with 3/4"
JetSwet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 07:23 PM   #4
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 4,198
Rewards Points: 2,254
Default

subfloor


Thank you Mr.Wet! What?......terrible is too mild?

And it's Jaz's reaction.

Jaz
__________________
Tile 4 You LLC Troy, MI

DITRA Installs - KERDI Watertight-Mold-Free Showers. I have NEVER made a mistake, I thought I did ONCE, but, I was WRONG! A+ BBB rating - est. 1987 - over 50 yrs. exp.
JazMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 11:43 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

subfloor


Well crap not what I wanted to hear but it's what I needed to hear. I don't want to spend the money to put in a nice wood floor and have ti get messed up b/c the subfloor was not strong enough. Thanks for your help.
no clue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 11:56 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,798
Rewards Points: 712
Default

subfloor


It really needs 3/4 T & G with subfloor glue on the floor joist.
I like Advantec subbflooring.
No voids, holds fastners really well. Very resistant to moisture damage.
It comes premaked where the fastners go.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 03:57 PM   #7
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 4,198
Rewards Points: 2,254
Default

subfloor


I agree of course, that a 3/4" subfloor would be what you need, but....... there is no reason you have to add 3/4" to what you've got now. Go ahead if you can, but you can get away with less, and it doesn't have to be t&g. Apparently someone removed the second half of the subfloor system of your floor when something was remodeled. The other half, was probably 5/8" thick.

Jaz
__________________
Tile 4 You LLC Troy, MI

DITRA Installs - KERDI Watertight-Mold-Free Showers. I have NEVER made a mistake, I thought I did ONCE, but, I was WRONG! A+ BBB rating - est. 1987 - over 50 yrs. exp.
JazMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 11:41 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

subfloor


It was 1/2 in pressed boad and I pulled it up to replace a floor joist. So (not to sound stupid) I should, and would be okay, to pull the 7/16 and replace with 3/4 T&G? I just want to make sure the floor doesn't squeak in a month (my wife wil never let me hear the end of that). If i put down 3/4 in and my 3/4 thick hickory then I will only have a 1/2 differance between the bedroom and bathroom.
no clue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 11:49 AM   #9
Pro
 
JetSwet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lagrangeville NY
Posts: 1,010
Rewards Points: 502
Default

subfloor


Quote:
Originally Posted by no clue
It was 1/2 in pressed boad and I pulled it up to replace a floor joist. So (not to sound stupid) I should, and would be okay, to pull the 7/16 and replace with 3/4 T&G? I just want to make sure the floor doesn't squeak in a month (my wife wil never let me hear the end of that). If i put down 3/4 in and my 3/4 thick hickory then I will only have a 1/2 differance between the bedroom and bathroom.
1/2" seams alot which room would be higher if done this way?
JetSwet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 11:51 AM   #10
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 4,198
Rewards Points: 2,254
Default

subfloor


If by 'pressed boad' you mean particle board, you need to remove any other you may have on the floors. Replace it with the proper type and thickness of plywood to make the floor the same thickness as the adjoining area. Let us know what you've got on the joists in all areas.

To answer your question, yes a single t&g 3/4" subfloor is adequate for your purpose.

Jaz
__________________
Tile 4 You LLC Troy, MI

DITRA Installs - KERDI Watertight-Mold-Free Showers. I have NEVER made a mistake, I thought I did ONCE, but, I was WRONG! A+ BBB rating - est. 1987 - over 50 yrs. exp.
JazMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 11:52 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

subfloor


the hallway would be higher than the bedrooms and bath. we have carpet in the bedrooms and at some point we will tile the bath but not this go around. other than pulling all the flooring what can I do to reduce the difference?
no clue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 11:54 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

subfloor


Jaz,
It has 7/16 plywood but it really was 1/2 plessed board like an MDF on top of that. I'm pretty sure that is what is in the rest of the house.
no clue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 11:57 AM   #13
Pro
 
JetSwet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lagrangeville NY
Posts: 1,010
Rewards Points: 502
Default

subfloor


Quote:
Originally Posted by no clue
Jaz,
It has 7/16 plywood but it really was 1/2 plessed board like an MDF on top of that. I'm pretty sure that is what is in the rest of the house.
Can you take pic? Sounds like Masonite MDF
JetSwet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 12:02 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

subfloor


that might be what it is. I can't take a picture of it now I'm at work (as you can tell reallly working).
no clue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 12:12 PM   #15
Pro
 
JetSwet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lagrangeville NY
Posts: 1,010
Rewards Points: 502
Default

subfloor


subfloor-image-1342623259.jpg

Lol work is over rated.... This is Masonite MDF aka. Medium density fiberboard. Particle board is slightly different. Either way there only good for carpet or laminate.

Advertisement

JetSwet is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subfloor and P-trap for basement bathroom svaic00 Plumbing 9 10-11-2012 01:51 PM
How should I reinforce this subfloor? NewHomeDIYGuy Tiling, ceramics, marble 35 12-05-2011 11:01 AM
Need guidance on subfloor problems in new home. wb1026 Flooring 9 10-06-2009 07:29 AM
Subfloor Help, Please! OmahaGirl Flooring 1 01-26-2009 09:06 AM
Subfloor / underlayment question... scheenstra Flooring 7 02-21-2008 08:39 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts