Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-28-2010, 08:49 PM   #1

Share |

Soundproof under tile in upstairs bathroom?

Starting tonight, I will be screwing down the twelve year old OSB into the I-Beam joisting it's been nailed to since being built. I'm using tan 1 5/8 Deck Screws. The 5lb box from Home Depot for $28 + tax.

Then I'll be gluing & screwing down 1/4" Luan on top of this.

Then I'll be laying down 1/4" hardieboard.

Then I'll be laying down 20x20" tile.

My question is, I'm real big on having a quiet house. Is there anything I can do during this process to make it more quiet downstairs, when someone is walking on the tile upstairs?

Btw, this is my first time doing any of this. I'm a "so-so to middlin" DIY'er.

Thanks!

CZ DIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 07:01 AM   #2

Maybe roofers felt between the OSB & luan?

Old 08-01-2010, 05:51 AM   #3

NobleSeal SIS
TomServo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 03:55 PM   #4

Luan is inapropriate for use under tile. Replace it with 3/4" plywood that is glued and screwed.
Using a 20" tile requires the correct joist size and span. The floor has to be much more stable or the tile will crack.
If you want sound deadening, insulate the joists underneath and use a channeling system to isolate the sheetrock from the joists.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ron6519 For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (08-01-2010)
Old 08-02-2010, 06:54 AM   #5

Thanks guys.
3/4" plywood would raise the floor height pretty far up, did you mean to suggest that size?

3/4" plywood followed by 1/4" hardiboard followed by tile (1/2"?). That is a floor height of almost 2" after thinset?

Thanks for the SIS link. I'll look into cost for it!

My flooring has horizontal I-Beam joists. I have added small strips of vertical I-beam between the horizontal runs for added strength.