DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Flooring (http://www.diychatroom.com/f5/)
-   -   Shaw Epic Engineered opinions? (http://www.diychatroom.com/f5/shaw-epic-engineered-opinions-58978/)

CCP 12-10-2009 02:07 PM

Shaw Epic Engineered opinions?
 
Anyone have any experience with Shaw's Epic Engineered wood flooring? I have not been able to find many reviews. I have found a good deal on a reminant but I want to make sure it is decent quality. Looks good to my untrained eye.

Thanks
Chris

Larryd4m 08-06-2010 03:05 AM

The Shaw EPIC EnviroCore wood flooring is the worst quality flooring I ever seen. Saw burned cuts, cuts weren't even, floor is nailed in the groove, not the tongue making some nail guns useless. The locking technology is SLOPPY-it DOESN'T lock at all. It just lays in there. It sratches too easily as not enough aluminum oxide layers were used...SKIMPED again. It dents too easily because the wood and core is too soft. My old $1.00/ft laminate was much easier to install and more durable. My dogs didn't scratch my old cheap floor, but they scratched this new floor in one day. Shaw has horrible ethics and cusotmer service. They came to my house, but told me it looked "good enough". Call me with any questions! I'll even send you picture of how horrible the product is. I put the Opticore in water for 3 days and took it our. It separated easily. Larry 707-603-1201

poppameth 08-06-2010 05:47 AM

Never had any issues with it. Very few pieces have any locking technology to worry about. Most is tongue and groove. The wear layer is just fine. Someone didn't do their research in advance. Any wood floor will scratch easier than a laminate. Laminate is usually recommended if you have concerns over dogs scratching it because the wear layer is harder. Completely different technology there. As for Shaw's ethics, they are a big company and you might expect to be treated like crap, but they have responded well to every claim we have ever had to make and usually take care of the problem very quickly. You want crappy service, use a Mohawk product. Try submerging laminate in water and see what happens as well. No wood product is waterproof and none claim they are.

Kind of odd you registered just to flame Shaw.

CCP 08-06-2010 06:57 AM

I ended up buying this floor. No complaints yet. I floated it by gluing it together, it hasn't seen much traffic yet but it seems to be holding up well.

h1lp 01-15-2011 08:32 PM

Epic maple flooring
 
We put down the Epic 3/4" maple 5" wide flooring. They discontinued the 3/4" size and I am wondering if it is because it is too soft. My broom can fall over and leave a moon shaped dent to give you an example. We have had our floor down for one year and by the scratches and dents in it, it looks much older and worn. I called to have someone come out and they never replied to my call.
I was talked into the engineered wood because I wanted the 5" width and they said engineered was a lot stronger and would not "cup". I wish I would have read more reviews before the big investment and disappointment.

DIY LA 02-05-2011 04:14 AM

Shaw engineered flooring
 
One DIY Opinon

1. Shaw engineered wood is not intended for any high traffic areas, kitchens, hallways, bedrooms.
2. Finish is extremely fragile, it will dent and scratch easily.
3. After one year of install, we experienced peeling and chipping of finish.
4. Children or pets are not welcome.

I have only installed engineered, laminates in five projects, but I can't recommend this product.

Patrick@1 09-21-2011 02:07 PM

Shaw does not make matching T molding/Stair noseing
 
I purchased Shaw Epic Hickory Jubilee flooring in a 5" plank and had it installed as a floating floor. The installation went well and the floor looked great until.... I ordered matching T molding ($40.00/ 6 strip) and stair noses ($50.00/ 6 strip). When the material came in the color was an almost white, natural color, which did not even come close to matching the flooring.
When the store I purchased the flooring through contacted Shaw, Shaw said they did not make trim pieces to match their Jubilee Honey hickory. They said I needed to buy a top stain to put over their finish of their natural trim if I wanted a match or just live with the very white natural color against the rich honey of the floor. Since the natural molding has their very hard coating on it, the top stain will wear off quickly in any high traffic areas
If I had known there was no matching trim I would never have purchased the flooring.

poppameth 09-22-2011 05:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Patrick@1 (Post 733129)
I purchased Shaw Epic Hickory Jubilee flooring in a 5" plank and had it installed as a floating floor. The installation went well and the floor looked great until.... I ordered matching T molding ($40.00/ 6 strip) and stair noses ($50.00/ 6 strip). When the material came in the color was an almost white, natural color, which did not even come close to matching the flooring.
When the store I purchased the flooring through contacted Shaw, Shaw said they did not make trim pieces to match their Jubilee Honey hickory. They said I needed to buy a top stain to put over their finish of their natural trim if I wanted a match or just live with the very white natural color against the rich honey of the floor. Since the natural molding has their very hard coating on it, the top stain will wear off quickly in any high traffic areas
If I had known there was no matching trim I would never have purchased the flooring.

Which color did you order? I'll be glad to check on this for you. I've never seen one of these products not have matching trim pieces. I'd like to check into it and make sure whether there really are no matching trims available or if maybe the retailer is lying to you.

Patrick@1 09-22-2011 01:19 PM

Shaw does not make matching T molding/Stair noseing
 
No, the retailer is not lying. I contacted Shaw's customer service directly. They sent me the molding numbers to order and they were the same as those I received which did not match. They replyed back and apologized for the problem and gave me the name of a web site that sells a wide variety of moldings to match floors. Unfortunately all the site sells are laminate materials so Im working with my installer to custom finish raw t- molding.

Selectingafloor 03-13-2012 03:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by h1lp (Post 571105)
We put down the Epic 3/4" maple 5" wide flooring. They discontinued the 3/4" size and I am wondering if it is because it is too soft. My broom can fall over and leave a moon shaped dent to give you an example. We have had our floor down for one year and by the scratches and dents in it, it looks much older and worn. I called to have someone come out and they never replied to my call.
I was talked into the engineered wood because I wanted the 5" width and they said engineered was a lot stronger and would not "cup". I wish I would have read more reviews before the big investment and disappointment.

I am looking at installing this same floor. Are you sorry you put down that floor- Shaw EPIC engineered wood Maple?

Thanks

Selectingafloor 03-14-2012 06:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by poppameth (Post 481269)
Never had any issues with it. Very few pieces have any locking technology to worry about. Most is tongue and groove. The wear layer is just fine. Someone didn't do their research in advance. Any wood floor will scratch easier than a laminate. Laminate is usually recommended if you have concerns over dogs scratching it because the wear layer is harder. Completely different technology there. As for Shaw's ethics, they are a big company and you might expect to be treated like crap, but they have responded well to every claim we have ever had to make and usually take care of the problem very quickly. You want crappy service, use a Mohawk product. Try submerging laminate in water and see what happens as well. No wood product is waterproof and none claim they are.

Kind of odd you registered just to flame Shaw.

Do you still like your Shaw engineered wood floor? I am still on the fence about putting in this floor.

Thanks for the help with this.

nfm 05-08-2012 11:39 AM

Looking for opinions on the Shaw Epic
 
This is the only thread I've been able to find specifically re Shaw Epic Engineered. We are considering this flooring also, and it's been a while since the "worst flooring ever" response was written. I'm hoping people who have had this flooring installed on a slab would be kind enough to give me their honest feedback. After weeks of researching and reading and reading, I can't seem to come up with current reviews that talk about the flooring itself and its performance with any consistency. I'm almost ready to just give it up and replace the carpeting with carpeting. We won't be installing it ourselves. We are heading into our late 50s and won't be doing this again any time soon, so it's really our one and only opportunity to have wood flooring. We couldn't possibly spend the money this requires and have to pull it out and redo it in a year or two because it looks bad or fails.

Thanks in advance to any and all who can give opinions!

Selectingafloor 05-26-2012 01:44 PM

Shaw Epic flooring
 
I installed the Maple flooring throughout my place on a slab (I live in Florida). I love it. I do not have pets or children. I have only had it down for about a month- my contractor glued it down.

I too only wanted to do this once so I plan on having it for a long time. Good luck with your floor choice.

dgaugler 02-06-2013 08:21 PM

Shaw Epic floors are absolutely terrible. We've been in our new house for only 3 days. The floating floor moves all over the place, it is bulging up in spots. Now we have several spots where the veneer is separating from the engineered wood. There are no moisture issues. This might be the worst product I've ever seen, I really hope we can get them to replace the entire floor. Im so disappointed.

cluvender 02-22-2013 05:20 PM

Shaw Epic Windsor Walnut- TERRIBLE
 
We had SHaw Epic Windsor Walnut installed in August 2010. Two and a half years later it looks like it is 15 years old. Our floor guy said it was the worst example of engineered hardwood he had ever witnessed. It scratches with the most minor of events (i.e. dropping a broom). It is advertised as kid and pet friendly, which it absolutely is not. When the floor scratches,even minor scratches, it scratches to leave a white mark which I would guess is the all the way through the veneer. We will be pursuing a claim with Shaw.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Copyright 2003-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved