Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-08-2014, 07:15 AM   #1

Share |

Self Leveling Compound Help

I'm using self leveling compound to help level my floor prior to tile installation. I have never used it before and was hoping I could get some advice.

1) First of all, I am laying marble tile. My floor is of adequate strength and deflection. Part of the floor will have 16 inch tiles while another room will have a basketweave with very small tiles each only an inch or so. I know the floor for the 16 inch tiles has to be completely flat. Am I correct in assuming the basketweave tile floor is a little more forgiving? I am doing the basketweave first for that reason.

2) I have properly secured exposure 1 3/4" underlayment grade plywood on the floor. Do I need to use a primer on this prior to using the self leveling compound?

3) I have Mapei self leveling compound. The guy at Lowe's recommended that I use part Mapei Planipatch Plus when mixing the SLC. He said it would make it adhere better. Should I use this mixed with water or use only water?

4) What tips do you have for using self leveling compound?

5) What tools should I have on hand to help level it. I'm assuming something like the tools used to finish concrete are helpful, but I have never done either.

Thanks for your help!

DrDIYer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 11:20 AM   #2
Tileguy

In #3 you said you have Mapei self leveling but didn't say which one. They make at least 6 different types. Are we to assume it's the one called "Self Leveler"?

Jaz

DITRA Installs - KERDI Watertight-Mold-Free Showers. I have NEVER made a mistake, I thought I did ONCE, but, I was WRONG! A+ BBB rating - est. 1987 - over 50 yrs. exp.
JazMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 11:52 AM   #3