Replacing Joists, Subfloor, And Hardwood On Top Of Partial Concrete Slab - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-29-2012, 12:33 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Replacing joists, subfloor, and hardwood on top of partial concrete slab

Hey folks,

I'm new to contributing to the forum, but I have been leaching info from here for previous projects for quite some time now. Thanks for all the previous help!

My current project is replacing the floor in the back room of my house. The old floor was a painted-over linoleum, and we'd like to replace it with wood to match the red oak floors in our 1886 Denver Victorian. The existing subfloor was 2 sheets of stacked 1/2" ply over 2x8 joists 16" on center. The room is 8' 9" by 16' 9".

The problem is that (as you can see from the pictures linked below), the threshold between the floor in the kitchen and the back room would be quite a step up due to the existing cement slab that used to be the back porch.

I'm curious if anyone has any brilliant ideas on how to put this back together so that we can gain a few inches on top of the joists to have a 3/4" sheet of ply, an 1/8" membrane, and then hardwood on top of that (unknown thickness as of now). I don't like the joists sitting on the concrete, but in order to drop things down the concrete would have to be removed. The other thought I had was to fill in the gaps with concrete and do a finish concrete layer on top and lay the flooring on top of that.

Here is a link to the pictures of the room:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/2918017...7631650640465/

And one embedded if I can...

Thanks in advance for the help!!

Aaron in Denver

Advertisement

Aaroneous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 05:19 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,164

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaroneous View Post
Hey folks,