Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-25-2011, 08:58 PM   #1

Share |

Replacing Bathroom Subfloor

Hi DIY'ers,

I am renovating an ensuite bathroom and have decided to take the floor down to the joists and rebuild. There was some water damage previously, so it stinks, it squeaks and it's got strange cuts in it that don't really seem to serve a purpose. So, re-do time.

I've never done this before, so the plan is to use a circular saw to cut out as much of the existing floor as close as I can to the walls, keeping everything nice and square so I can fit the new floor in easy.

The floor seems to be 5/8 plywood, joists are 2x10, 16" centers.

1. Should I glue the boards down to prevent squeaking? Nails, screws, and at what spacing?

2. Should I leave a gap between sheets?

3. In what orientation should I run the sheets in relation to the joists? Do I need to have sheets meet along the length of the joists and attach them there?

Basically I don't know what I'm doing and I want to do this right. Any help would be appreciated!
Attached Thumbnails
Replacing Bathroom Subfloor-renovation-001.jpg   Replacing Bathroom Subfloor-renovation-002.jpg  

mforeman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 06:02 AM   #2
Pro Newbie, Thank You!

Good Morning,

If you have a few dollars to spare with this project, you can pick up a Toe-kick saw from Harbor Freight. This saw will allow you to cut the subfloor flush to the walls. You will need to use a SawZall type tool to get in the inside corners.

If using your circular saw, get out your framing square and a straight edge and mark lines to follow when cutting. you can check square before you cut.