Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-21-2008, 10:15 PM   #1

Share |

Removing Subfloor(s?)

Hi all, a newbie checking in... It's my first post and my first home, so I am a complete DIY virgin.

Here is my problem...

I want to get down to hardwood in my kitchen and it has 2 different subfloors. I fear harming the hardwood when I try to pry both layers up at the same time..(not to mention it is damn near impossible), so I thought I would remove one layer at a time. I can work my pry bar between the 2 sheets but again, have a snowballs chance in hades of getting a 4x8' sheet....so.....

I was wondering if I can set my circular saw at 1/2" or so and cut the the top layer of subfloor into smaller sections to remove it? What if I run across a nail with my saw? Anyone have any better strategies they wanna share?

Go easy please, I'm a newbie, remember?

Bacchusbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2008, 10:56 PM   #2
fix it

Removing Subfloor(s?)

This seems like a silly question, but since you didn't say how you discovered it...are you certain there is hardwood under the 2 layers of plywood, or whatever the 4x8 sheets are? If there is then you have 2 layers of underlayment (subfloor is below the underlayment, which in this case would be below the hardwood) on top of your hardwood, which seems strange, but anything is possible.

If you are certain of the thicknesses of the 2 underlayments you could use a circular saw to cut it into smaller pieces for easier removal. What type of finished flooring do you currently have? Is it carpet? Assuming it was carpet and there isn't vynil tile or something on top of the underlayment you could just pull all the nails on the sheet. If it's linolium or some other vynil product, the saw is probably your best best. Nails, screws, etc will be hard on the blade, but the saw will go through it.