Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-21-2011, 04:59 PM   #1

Share |

Refinishing hardwood floors (oak) - damage control!

Hello, looking for advice on how to proceed, on what looks to be a major F* up.

I have done laminate flooring before, and "refinished" hardwood floors with the Varathane "No Sand" kit with pretty good results.
However, I am completely new to sanding/refinishing original wood floors, so here is my predicament:

This hardwood floor I originally tried just giving a facelift to with the 'no sand' kit, as shown here:

[sorry, you are not allowed to post website links]

In this instance though, the kit started to take up the original finish, leaving a mess. SO, I ended up renting a drum sander and going this time for stripping the old finish and restaining. The room isn't that big, about 10' x 10'. Again, my first time at this.

The problem is the floor was apparently so old and hard, the sander would not completely take up all the old stain.
After drum sanding, and then hand sanding ad nauseum, I was left with traces of the old stain everywhere but most of it up. I then made the supreme mistake of gambling on using a darker stain than the original floor, and hoping it would even out in the end.

After leaving the stain sit overnight, I came in the next morning and wiped down the excess, and it looks like this underneath (1st 2 pics). The last pic is the unwiped portion of the floor, with the stain still sitting on it. As you can see, the 'giraffe' pattern of old leftover stain was made even MORE noticeable, not blended away.

So what can be done at this point. Take the new stain off, and then rent a sander again? But what should I use to do this, to avoid a sticky mess.
Paint stripper? Mineral spirits?

Definitely damage control. Open to any suggestions as to the best way to go forward- done doing it the wrong way!
Attached Thumbnails