Prepping Floor For Laminate - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-03-2013, 08:11 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 25

Prepping Floor For Laminate

The attached video shows what I discovered when I pulled up the vinyl flooring. It's not quite even with the rest appears to have been pieced together with an old fruit crate. 1 piece is NOT nailed down, others appear to be solid when it is jumped on. Does this need to come out, should it be sanded, use floor leveling compound/ just put luan over it?

Also, when pulling up the vinyl on the opposite side of the room found a disconnected heat duct with the grate on it under the vinyl. Not going to hook that heat duct back up so what is the best way to fix both of these problems and get it ready for the laminate floor to go down?

http://youtu.be/TQPaCpMpeGg

I'm a novice at best at this, did laminate 1 other time for a friend who went the super cheap not right route, want this to look good and last a very long time like it's supposed to.

Advertisement

TheJerk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 10:43 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 738

As long as the floor is flat (all the same height) and solid your fine.
If you do decide to go with an underlayment do not use luan, go with underlaymant rated sanded plywood instead.
No there not the same thing.

Advertisement

Old 04-04-2013, 10:04 AM   #3