Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-30-2011, 07:57 AM   #1

Share |

Preparing floor for radiant

From all my research online and talking to plumbers, I have come up with this plan. I wanted to run this by the experts before I begin my project. Please let me know if you see any issues or have any concerns... I am sure there will be plenty as I am an amateur DIYer.

My small 5' x 7' bathroom is old, outdated and the subfloor floor around the tub and toilet is rotten. I am gutting it down to the studs and floor joists which are 16" oc. The bathroom is located on the first floor and can be accessed from the unfinished basement below. I am going to install 3/8 pex 6" oc without using heat plates to a 3/4" plywood subfloor, lay Ditra with modified thinset and 12" floor tiles with unmodified thinset. The pex, which ties directly into the copper baseboard lines, will be regulated with a simple valve.

1) I read that finding unmodified thinset can be hard to find. Is there a common thinset I can use for applying both the Ditra and tiles?
2) After installing my shower, vanity and toilet, I've calculated that I will need about 25' of pex tubing. Can I buy this by the foot from any major home improvement center?
3) After installing the pex tubing, can I simply cover them with R30 insulation?
4) Am I going overboard by installing the pex? I love radiant floor heat but the bathoom already has baseboard and it's such a small area that it my not be worth the investment.

jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 08:41 AM   #2
Civil Engineer

1. I installed tile in my kitchen using Ditra, and installed electric radiant floor heat under the tile. I had not trouble obtaining unmodified premium thinset at a big box store.