Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-11-2012, 08:02 AM   #1

Share |

poly on old plank fooring?

hello. haven't posted since i started my project and after about a year i'm finally ready for some polyeurathane(sp?) and am in need of some advice. thanks in advance for any help.
anyway here is my question. can i just varnish my 150yr old plank floor with poly or do i have to put on some wood feeder or prep coat of some kind? should i even use ploy? the wood is really soft so thought ploy is the way to go but don't really know since i have no experience in this area. not planning on sanding it.
i don't know what wood feeder does other than maybe make the poly stick better which doesn't appear to be an issue because my test board really sucked up the poly, i think i'll need atleast 4 coats. it looked good on the test board. turned really dark and kinda red. maybe wood feeder would help me use less varnish but wood feeder is expensive also.

here's what i got/did.
1850's house and floor. tongue and groove with 5"(+/-) floorboards 15/16" thick. i think it's soft pine of some sort because it's very light weight.
wanted to retain orignal distressed look so i'm leaving all the dents, scratches and old finish etc. not much original finsh it's mostly worn off and doesn't appear to have ever been refinished within the last 100yrs(long story- room was basically closed off from general use since 1950).
20'x40' second story floor with no span support underneath so it had sagged 3" in the middle. took up and saved old floor. leveled joists with nailers on top then screwed plywood to both sides of the joists. put down 1" subfloor. relayed floor (destroyed a few original boards in the process so had to mix and match with some similar old flooring i found).
thanks again.
scott.

Last edited by sgettin; 11-11-2012 at 08:15 AM.
sgettin is offline   Reply With Quote