Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-28-2010, 07:29 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 150

Plywood thickness: asked for 1/2" plywood; hardware delivered 7/16 (.437) thickness)

newbie here ...
I know solid wood products are slightly smaller than stated dimensions but I thought plywood, since it's engineered would be the declared thickness.

If I asked for 1/2" plywood (and paid for 1/2") and hardware delivered 7/16 (.437) thickness, did they deliver what I paid for?

I had previously ordered 3/4" for the subfloor; I just measured it and it's also 1/16 inch short of 3/4 inch. So maybe the hardware is right?

I'm putting in tile & need to match to some of the old subfloor & these two 1/16" differences are adding up to a big problem.

I had the hardware cut one of the two sheets in half; if the hardware is wrong, I'm sure they'll take it back; if I was wrong, they will probably take back the uncut sheet, but I'll be stuck with the cut sheet.

Last edited by lazzlazz; 03-28-2010 at 08:35 PM.
lazzlazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 07:32 PM   #2
water flows downhill

Rewards Points: 25

Plywood thickness: asked for 1/2" plywood; hardware delivered 7/16 (.437) thickness)

That is pretty standard sized lumber you have received.
Try using it and dealing with the 1/16 difference may not be an issue for you.

oarfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 08:00 PM   #3

Thanks ... this difference is 2 x 1/16 inch, since both the 3/4 inch and the 1/2 inch plywood is 1/16 inch thinner than I thought. Plus, there was an existing roughly 1/16 inch difference between the remaining old subfloor/underlayment & the new subfloor/underlayment that I was just going to try to deal with by using a little more thinset.