Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-18-2009, 02:50 PM   #1
She'sapainter

Share |

Outdoors deck membrane failed

Hi all It's been a while...I am redoing my deck; I used Red Guard by Custom building supply. I fallow the specs to a T. laid my tile but didn't seal the mortar.

My tiles started moving I just laid them 8 months ago. Now that I am removing the tiles I see where the membrane has dissipated I assume that is due to the amount of time that is was exposed to the direct sun. Being that it is a waterproofing membrane.

I am scraping the red guard off and I think I am going to go ahead and just apply some last o merit beings it was originally a roofing compound my questing is will mortar adhere to it...

I am a commercial Painter of 25 years dealing in painting and special coating and waterproofing I just don’t know about tile over waterproofing
That is not my area of expertise

Old 02-18-2009, 04:55 PM   #2

WHAT are you doing, tiling a deck? Redgard is not a finished product, needs to covered with thinset and tile, works fine if used per instructuions.

NO, thinset and tile can not be applied over roofing compound.

Wait, you said the tile is moving, I doubt very much the Redgard is to blame, how exactly was the deck prepped for tile, how is it built?

R&D Tile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 07:04 AM   #3

Yup, we'll need answers to R&D's questions first...exactly what are you trying to waterproof anyway?

Did you speak with the RedGuard technical people about this? RedGuard is like a hi-fill alkyd paint with an elastomeric resin inside. It's bound to be "softer" than tile, wouldn't you say? What mortar did you use? modified? How do you think the modified mortar dried while sitting on the RG?