Outdoor Tile - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-19-2015, 05:24 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 14

Outdoor tile

Hi all I am starting a new deck it wil be pressure treated decking. I want to place about a 10x10 section of tile so I can put a fire pit I keep hearing mixed reviews on outdoor tile my plan is to knotch the joist so the tile will end at the same height. I live in Virginia so temps will range from 20-100F also it will not have any type of coverage (fire pit) so it will get the rain and snow. So my question is if I use 3/4 pressure treated ply with backer board then tile or Schluter-DITRA
Thanks in advance

Advertisement

flynavy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 08:27 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,494

Outdoor tile

I am not a tile pro but for me that is recipe for a mess. PT checks, cups and warps BADLY. Therefore, anything that is on it will reflect that whether it be cbu, ditra, etc. you need a better approach. Ron

Advertisement

ront02769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 10:42 PM   #3
Tileguy

Rewards Points: 3,240

Outdoor tile

Flynavy,

Let's start at the beginning with how the deck is built, be specific.

Tip; You will want, the right plywood, real concrete backer board AND Ditra. More later.

Jaz

DITRA Installs - KERDI Watertight-Mold-Free Showers. I have NEVER made a mistake, I thought I did ONCE, but, I was WRONG! A+ BBB rating - est. 1987 - over 50 yrs. exp.
JazMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 06:48 AM   #4

Rewards Points: 14

Outdoor tile

For the deck deck I am using 2x8 16 OC I will be putting girders every 6 feet with post going up to the girders every 7 ft so I shouldnt have much bounce I the deck if can drop to 1 foot OC where the tile will be if need be the decking will be 5/4 pressure treated
flynavy is offline   Reply With Quote