DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Flooring (http://www.diychatroom.com/f5/)
-   -   Opinion wanted, does this need to be re done? (http://www.diychatroom.com/f5/opinion-wanted-does-need-re-done-38856/)

dtmbizzle 02-21-2009 05:38 PM

Opinion wanted, does this need to be re done?
 
Hello, I'd like opinions on this section of our hardwood floors. I have attached pics to show the issue. Our house was built in 2005, we moved in that fall. After moving in, we had this issue in the exact same spot, and the floor contractor came out in spring of 2007, and replaced the section of flooring highlighted in the first pic, due to the boards splitting in the EXACT same spot. See the arrow? thats where the splits are the worst, but they basically are happening all along this door area. So they re-did this whole section, and boom, 2 more winters and look at it, it's splitting about as bad as the first time.

My question is, should I just fill in these huge splits with wood filler, or call the flooring contractor back out? Or is this issue in, or around the door frame? There is no leaking that I can see outright. Any input much appreciated!

The area between the black lines is what was replaced in spring 2007
http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...kdoorcrack.jpg

The below shots are what the area looks like now. These shots are pointed right where the arrow is in the top pic.
http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...e/IMG_1483.jpg

http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...e/IMG_1477.jpg

http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...e/IMG_1471.jpg

http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...e/IMG_1476.jpg

Floorwizard 02-21-2009 05:44 PM

What is the level of humidity in the home?

Is it kept constant?

dtmbizzle 02-21-2009 06:02 PM

Were in Denver, CO so it's real dry here in the winter, we have a humidity control in the basement, and I keep it at the recommended level, about 20%. We open the doors windows in the summer, so it gets more air for those months. I know for a fact that it's been dryer in here this winter, because the rest of the ground floor is pretty much all the same hard wood, and we've had a TON of snap, crackle and pop this winter compared to last. I just put the humidity control up a wee bit.

HWConstruction 02-21-2009 06:47 PM

Run your humidity between 30-40%. Looking at the pictures, to me it looks like a door issue. The molding at the bottom of the door looks to have been wet. It wouldn't be the first time i've seen a door leak like this.

jaymaniam 02-21-2009 07:00 PM

Is this your main enterance? If so your problem is why most foyer are tile/linolium you may need to consider that option

Floorwizard 02-21-2009 07:11 PM

Quote:

Were in Denver, CO so it's real dry here in the winter, we have a humidity control in the basement, and I keep it at the recommended level, about 20%.
That's recommended?
Sounds low to me-

rusty baker 02-21-2009 07:32 PM

Put a level on the floor. See if it is settling.

dtmbizzle 02-21-2009 09:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jaymaniam (Post 234297)
Is this your main enterance? If so your problem is why most foyer are tile/linolium you may need to consider that option

It's not the main entrance, but its where we go out to the grill. It's opened pretty frequently.

dtmbizzle 02-21-2009 09:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Floorwizard (Post 234303)
That's recommended?
Sounds low to me-

The control unit does it by temperature. If it's below 20 degrees it says keep it at 20%. I agree with you, I am going to keep the humidity setting higher from now on.

jaros bros. 02-21-2009 09:19 PM

Sounds like you need to up the humidity a little. It also looks like one of the boards has separated a little as well. More humidity and see how that works.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Copyright 2003-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved