Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-23-2013, 03:48 AM   #1

Share |

Old barnboards for flooring?? sanding/finishing

Greetings everyone!

I have been restoring an old New England farmhouse for the past 3 years and am onto some flooring now. I'd like to use 250 year old barn boards from the exterior of the barn for my kitchen floor. The boards are basically 1x lumber of varying widths, very weathered, with gaps in the grain and wide nail holes in places and rounded edges. These boards are priceless (and irreplaceable!) so I want to do this right. I basically have little experience with finishing wood floors but due to the age and characteristics of 250 year old barn board, I am guessing the techniques and materials would be different anyways. I have a new subfloor in place already consisting 3/4" oak C-3 plywood on top of 5/16" cdx and plan to use the old square head nails from the house to nail the barn boards to the subfloor. But what on earth to do about finishing the wood? I like the weathered look, the gaps, the nail holes, the deformities, but they need to be filled in somehow to prevent dirt/water from getting in them.

- Can anyone chime in with some advice on what you would do? Is this even possible or is this just a horrible idea??
- Can someone point me in the right direction where I can find some useful information/resources for this type of project?

I read this post from another site: http://hardwoodfloorsmag.com/forum/topic231-finishing-rough-sawn-reclaimed-barn-wood.aspx which I found interesting but I am still uncertain about what's "right" for this project. paste wax, polymerized tung oil, carver oil, poly, etc...?? I am very confused...

Any help is MUCH appreciated!! Thank YOU!

tcook555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 05:32 AM   #2
Too Short? Cut it Again!