Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-29-2008, 09:01 AM   #1

Share |

oil vs water poly

We are redoing heart pine floors in an old house in the country. Any suggestions on how to attain a brownish tone? use water or oil poly?
batwoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 04:11 PM   #2
SM1
SandMasters ProFloorCare

oil vs water poly

If your going for brown on pine you'll prolly need to use a wipe on wipe off stain before applying poly. I usually use a conditioner on pine to attain more uniform results.
SM1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 06:16 PM   #3

oil vs water poly

jimiz iou1 = what color would you recommend for a darker brown tone? And what do you mean by a conditioner? I am VERY new at this.
batwoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 11:55 PM   #4
SM1
SandMasters ProFloorCare

oil vs water poly

Quote:
Originally Posted by batwoman View Post
jimiz iou1 = what color would you recommend for a darker brown tone? And what do you mean by a conditioner? I am VERY new at this.
conditioner is like a pre stain stain if you will. Pine by nature will not accept stain evenly. It ends up looking blotchy. if you use apply a conditioner ( you can find "pre-stain conditioner" at home depot along with a minwax stain of your choosing (dark walnut has a rich brown tone). just follow the directions on the can.
Old 09-30-2008, 12:00 AM   #5
SM1
SandMasters ProFloorCare

oil vs water poly

oh and if you don't have alot of experience with applying finish, i would suggest usin oil based polyurethane...its more forgiving and unless ur a floor contractor its kinda hard to get ahold of a good water based product. i wouldn't suggest the home depot stuff...its pretty thin(water based any ways...the parks pro finish oil based is good stuff...flows well)