Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-30-2012, 11:18 AM   #1
Meep!

Rewards Points: 75

Next project- the "Y" shower

I love my YMCA shower in the master, but the previous owners weren't too keen on repairing this thing the right way. Looking forward to tearing all of this out and finishing it correctly.

Joe Dirt is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Joe Dirt For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (01-30-2012)
Old 07-01-2012, 04:42 PM   #2
Meep!

Almost 5 months to the day, and a bunch of other problems that cropped up in the meantime that needed fixing first, I'm ready to go for the fix.

So I have this shower floor to redo, and I've never done tile before, let alone a shower floor repair. Here is what I'd like to accomplish-

1.) I don't want to tear the whole shower out. Why? We may be combining two bathrooms into one large master bath in about 10 years if we stay here for a spell, so I really don't want to redo the entire thing. I just don't want it to start leaking profusely...

2.) I'd like to put in something that I can add to if I decide to redo the entire bathroom as it's own entity- if I redo the floor now, is it feasible that can I tear out the top later and still save and leave the floor in place and just replace above it when redoing the rest of the shower later if the route ends up going that way?

Thoughts and/or any special things to think about/remind me of? I'm thinking a sandstone hue would work best, since if the shower gets redone, that's the color palate I'd use.

Last edited by Joe Dirt; 07-02-2012 at 10:19 AM.
Old 07-01-2012, 05:18 PM   #3
Renovations contractor

Rewards Points: 250