New Floor Questions - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-13-2011, 10:04 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

New Floor Questions

I recently started a bathroom remodel and its time to do the flooring. The previous sub-floor was falling apart and needs to replace. I also made some large gaps while running several electric runs for another unrelated project. Since this is my first time doing any flooring I wanted to run my plan by someone(s) who have more experience then I do.

My plan is rip out the current plywood (or what's left of it) and to install two layers of 23/32 sanded BC (exterior) plywood from the local orange box store. I plan to use Ditra on top of the plywood and Florida Tile HDP Berkshire tiles.

Outside the bathroom is a hallway with hardwood floors. The distance from the joists to the top of the hardwood floor is ~1.5" so I will have a difference of about a 1/2 inch. Since the tiles are 11mm (.433 inches) I don't think I have much of a choice. I know the min for Ditra is 3/8 but I'm worried that won't be enough for this tile.

Does my plan sound okay? My joists are 2x8s 16" on center. Square footage (not including tub) is 7' x 5'. Tub size is 60" x 32".

Thanks in advance for any advice/input.

-Kevin

Advertisement

diynct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 10:30 PM   #2
Tileguy

Rewards Points: 2,628

New Floor Questions

Quote:
I know the min for Ditra is 3/8 but I'm worried that won't be enough for this tile.
The minimum for DITRA is 5/8" nothing else considered.

DITRA comes 1/8" and 5/16" thick.

I guess I don't understand what you are trying to say.

Advertisement

Bud Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 11:18 PM   #3

New Floor Questions