Need Help Gluing Down Some Vinyl Planks - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-22-2014, 04:00 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 532

Need help gluing down some vinyl planks

I recently bought some used vinyl plank flooring from a guy on craigslist. It had been peel-and-stick glue-down, evidenced by the lines of glue residue on the back. I figured it would be simple enough to install if we used flooring adhesive, since its pretty thick stuff and still in really good shape.

Thing is, im a complete novice at using adhesive on a floor, so i need some recommendations of brands, and the best method of using it, since i doubt its as easy to use as construction adhesive. All you pros out there, what kind of vinyl plank adhesive do you rely on?
And whats the easiest way to use it?

Advertisement

Old 08-22-2014, 04:18 PM   #2
Tileguy

Rewards Points: 2,576

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrailerParadise View Post
I recently bought some used vinyl plank flooring from a guy on craigslist. It had been peel-and-stick glue-down, evidenced by the lines of glue residue on the back. I figured it would be simple enough to install if we used flooring adhesive, since its pretty thick stuff and still in really good shape.

Thing is, im a complete novice at using adhesive on a floor, so i need some recommendations of brands, and the best method of using it, since i doubt its as easy to use as construction adhesive. All you pros out there, what kind of vinyl plank adhesive do you rely on?
And whats the easiest way to use it?
Use PSA (Pressure sensitive Adhesive) you can get it at Home Depot or Lowe's or Menard's or any real flooring store. Spread it using a notched trowel 1/32 X 1/32 X 1/32, don't allow any gobs or ridges. Once the adhesive has dried (about an hour) you can install the tiles.

ADDITIONAL: