Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-24-2012, 08:05 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Need flooring help - Hardwood or Tile?

Hey guys,

Need advice on what to do in my townhouse. I own a townhouse that was built in the late 80's, and was a foreclosure. I am currently renting out one of the rooms, and I will be moving out and renting out the entire thing in a year or two. The carpet floors are NASTY and definitely need to be replaced!

I'm torn between engineered hardwood and the tile that looks like wood. I have $2000, but can go up a couple grand if need be. I am on a concrete subflooring. I have some experience in both laying tile and hardwood, but it has only been helping someone. I will have someone give me a hand on this job, but it will be mostly my girlfriend and me doing the work.

So, here are my questions...Is it feasible to get it done for about $2000 (it will be about 300-400 sq ft) Where is the best place to get the hardwood or tile? (I was looking at simplefloors.com for hardwood) What is the best for long-term ease of care plus longevity? (I will be renting the house out)

I am located in Southern Maryland, if that makes a difference.

Thanks for any and all advice!

rmorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 08:36 AM   #2
Remodeling Contractor

Rewards Points: 75

There is a sponsor right below this post. Lumber Liquidators,They have hardwood and close-outs for very reasonable prices. Laminate works for renters because they usually don't care. It is easy to maintain and will last fine. if you ever move in - take it out and put in tile ( if that's what you want)

Old 04-24-2012, 08:38 AM   #3
Too Short? Cut it Again!

Rewards Points: 2,000

It is somewhat an apples to oranges comparison. Whichever you pick, I would include a rug clause in your lease. And think through your policy on pets.