Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-26-2011, 10:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

mesh over laminate?????


I meant mesh over linoluem not laminate, also linoluem is not cushy type. floor now is hard all around.

Can I install some type of mesh over linoluem flooring then spread thinset over it to lay ceramic tiles?

I know ripping it up is the best and lying backerboard but why not use a mesh which is screwed down ontop of the linoluem.

small bathroom floor project


Last edited by busted; 11-26-2011 at 11:01 PM. Reason: wrong wording
busted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 10:33 PM   #2
Disabled wood vet
 
titanoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: California
Posts: 1,646
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

mesh over laminate?????


It will must likely separate and crack no matter what you do w/o a proper underlayment, esp. if the laminate has any soft-spots in it. It is most likely not glued down and will always have a certain give to it.


Last edited by titanoman; 11-26-2011 at 10:36 PM.
titanoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 10:53 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,646
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

mesh over laminate?????


If you want a tile floor that will last a long time pull the linoluem up and the underlayment that is probably under it and put down 1/4 inch cement board or one of the uncoupling membranes and tile over that. Also you would want to check the floor with a deflection calculator to see if your floor will support a tile floor. if you plan to put natural stone down the floor will need to meet twice the deflection that is needed for ceramic or porcelain tile. normally you dont put mesh down under tile unless you are doing a mud floor or pouring self leveler. I just tiled my kitchen and i used ditra instead of cement board so my tile would meet the hardwood in the dining room.
DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 10:59 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

mesh over laminate?????


I was planning on using mesh instead of ditra. also goin to use a mud floor. 4' by 5' bathroom floor. floor now is solid no worries about shifting etc..
busted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 11:13 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,646
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

mesh over laminate?????


have you checked to see if your floor joists and subfloor will support tile?


http://www.johnbridge.com/vbulletin/deflecto.pl

if you use the calculator dont put in the room size, you need the distance between supports under the floor joists.

it is your house and you can put mesh over linoleum if you want but you wont find anyone that will say that is a good way to do it.

Last edited by DannyT; 11-26-2011 at 11:17 PM.
DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 11:19 PM   #6
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 3,914
Rewards Points: 2,098
Default

mesh over laminate?????


Quote:
Originally Posted by busted View Post
I was planning on using mesh instead of ditra. also goin to use a mud floor. 4' by 5' bathroom floor. floor now is solid no worries about shifting etc..
A "Jersey mud job" is not approved by any tile org. because they almost always fail.
__________________
The ads in my post are there without my permission. I do not endorse any of the products.
Semi-Retired Installer
Installing since 1973
rusty baker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 11:26 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

mesh over laminate?????


L480 is what i come up with. says im good for ceramics for support. I can't see a problem goin ahead installing some type of mesh for this small area. floor is solid just need some to bond to ceramic. trust me this floor ain't going to shift it is solid. so im not going to stress about grout seams having hairline cracks.

Last edited by busted; 11-26-2011 at 11:30 PM.
busted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 11:36 PM   #8
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 3,914
Rewards Points: 2,098
Default

mesh over laminate?????


It's your house....I have never understood why anyone comes on here and asks how to do something right if they intend to do it wrong anyway.
__________________
The ads in my post are there without my permission. I do not endorse any of the products.
Semi-Retired Installer
Installing since 1973
rusty baker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 11:43 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

mesh over laminate?????


ya ya i agree with you on that part. It's not the right way but honestly tell me how that would fail if i stated the floor is solid, no shifting, inside wall, supports the weight . linoleum is not cushy, small area, biggest concern is bonding really. don't u think it would work? i know its not the top choice
"jersey mud job" its prone to shifting etc getting hairline cracks thats why noone supports it. but my floor is solid

Last edited by busted; 11-26-2011 at 11:46 PM.
busted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 01:48 AM   #10
Disabled wood vet
 
titanoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: California
Posts: 1,646
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

mesh over laminate?????


Quote:
Originally Posted by busted
ya ya i agree with you on that part. It's not the right way but honestly tell me how that would fail if i stated the floor is solid, no shifting, inside wall, supports the weight . linoleum is not cushy, small area, biggest concern is bonding really. don't u think it would work? i know its not the top choice
"jersey mud job" its prone to shifting etc getting hairline cracks thats why noone supports it. but my floor is solid
It's your house. But nix the mesh. It'll never lay perfectly flat and your nice new floor will crack the first time you step on it. And every time you sit on the pot you will be starting at the crack wishing you would have taken the time to do it right.
titanoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 07:04 AM   #11
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,855
Rewards Points: 2,358
Default

mesh over laminate?????


I typically takes 1 to 1 1/2 hours to pull up the old floor covering---another hour to mud and nail down 1/2" cement board-----

Mesh jobs (Jersey mud sets) have failed every test that the TCNA has run on them---Rusty and I make our living fixing those----But if saving a couple of hours is that important to you---go right ahead!

It's your house---after all you can always do it over------Mike----
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 07:43 AM   #12
Member
 
mrs fix it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 75
Default

mesh over laminate?????


Hey Oh'Mike, just once I want to say, "Mike says, make it right! "
There I got it out of my system.

Listen to the expert advice you've been given.
mrs fix it is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mrs fix it For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (11-27-2011)
Old 11-27-2011, 08:16 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

mesh over laminate?????


what if i used Ditra? i'm i still ok?
busted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 11:38 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,646
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

mesh over laminate?????


you would still need to pull up the linoleum and 1/4 inch underlayment before putting down the ditra.
everyone has given you the information to do the job the right way but its your house and you can do it anyway you want to.
In a few months or a year you will be back asking how to fix your floor.


Last edited by DannyT; 11-27-2011 at 11:43 AM.
DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 11:46 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

mesh over laminate?????


Ok I'll pull it and do it right! Thanks for knocking some sense into me

busted is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ditra under Laminate Floor? HECO Flooring 3 04-30-2012 08:00 AM
countertops-to tile or relaminate? mudpaw Remodeling 11 10-02-2011 09:43 AM
laminate moving in one direction nlmedic Flooring 2 03-01-2011 07:38 PM
Can't decide: Laminate or Engineered? rogersmj Flooring 7 08-30-2009 08:10 AM
Laminate layout, underlay for concrete subfloor? Jen25 Flooring 2 09-30-2008 12:04 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.