Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-10-2013, 09:09 AM   #1

Share |

Locating source of difficult floor squeak

I am trying to remedy a floor squeak in the upper bedroom floor before installing the new carpeting. I have plenty of experience tackling this chore in my old house and even went so far as to cut into my garage ceiling to shim up joists that were causing pesky and annoying squeaks in the kitchen floor. I don't really have that option here though because we have textured ceilings and I don't want to cut into them on the floor below.

In the picture I attached, the squeak is emanating from the general area around the joist where I put in 7 screws (with no change). The other joist is a couple inches beyond where the plywood seams meet and I have tried several screws there as well. I am thinking there must be some attached cross member or other joist support that I can't see there. I am just not familiar enough with how they could have constructed this to have a good picture in my head. I have thought about pulling up the screws and nails and removing the plywood to get a better look, but I am wondering if there is a better way to resolve this problem. The squeak is really bad and is something I definitly want to fix.
Attached Thumbnails
Locating source of difficult floor squeak-squeaky-floor.jpg  

Eagle One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 09:38 AM   #2

For one thing those outside edges should have been fastened every 6" with #8 ring shanked nails.

Old 06-10-2013, 09:55 AM   #3
Handyman

In my experience the squeaks usually come from where the boards meet or from the screws holes. If you still see problems then the wood make need replacing. You could as soon try installing some foam padding where the screws meet the beams underneath. I hope this helps you out. Good luck, let us know how things are progressing!