Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-07-2012, 01:53 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Laying OSB floor for our wedding

helllo! this is my first time on here and i'm hoping i can get some good ideas and advice on my headache of a project.

my fiancee and i are getting married in two months and we live on a small horse farm in ohio.

we have a canvas top riding arena that carly (fiancee) purchased with the money her dad left her after he passed away a few years ago due to a sudden heart attack.

the arena is awesome and it's riding floor dimensions are 120'x65'. it has a sand floor. after we got engaged, carly said if money were not a factor, she'd choose to have our wedding in the arena. that being said, i am making it my personal goal to make that happen.

we will be having a lot of elderly guests at the wedding so the idea of just doing it in the sand is out. renting a floor is $1 per square foot ($7800), so that's out. astroturf is about half that ($4000), and would be awesome, but still to expensive. from talking to everyone i can about this, my idea now is to use 7/16" OSB and H clips to hold them together. it would be about 240 sheets of OSB. i hope to be able to sell this material back after the wedding for a fraction of the price at which it was purchased.

i recently bought 10 sheets and laid them down on the freshly dragged sand and it seems to work pretty well. however, there are going to need to be several H clips on every board, about every 2 feet, in order to prevent any bowing or trip hazards. i was thinking of placing one side directly up against a wall and working my way across, leaving one extra foot of sand at the far side, where i plan on driving stakes down to keep the floor from expanding. sounds like i have a good start but i'm not sure until i actually do the whole thing of how this is going to hold up under heavy traffic.