Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-10-2009, 03:59 PM   #1

Share |

laminate vs. wood flooring

obviously you can tell I am a novice at building. So here goes the preverbial question: Which flooring is better for a sunroom? Laminate or engineered hardwood? We have taken into account the cost on both, but prefer to put down the one that would hold up better.
You will enter the sunroom from off the backdeck (the back yard) We do have two young children who play out back so this door entrance will be used frequently. Not to mention that the room will receive a lot of sun.

raghib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 06:44 PM   #2

Lam flooring is more durable and will not fade, so technically is would be considered better based on your info.

Floorwizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 11:16 PM   #3
Tileguy

I think both would be bad choices.

Jaz

DITRA Installs - KERDI Watertight-Mold-Free Showers. I have NEVER made a mistake, I thought I did ONCE, but, I was WRONG! A+ BBB rating - est. 1987 - over 50 yrs. exp.
JazMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 12:40 AM   #4

Three years ago I was trying to decide which one to use also. I ended up putting down the laminate. I really like it because I do daycare and have kids here all the time and so far I haven't noticed any damage. At first I put a sign inside the front door asking people to take their shoes off. The kids did very well with that but a few of their parents thought the sign wasn't meant for them. So I've had some puddles and slush on the floor but as long as I clean it up right away there's no problem. Our dog's claws haven't scratched it either. I've dropped knives and canned veggies on it and the little guys ride the tricycles on it and it's fine.

The kind I have has an embossed 'woodgrain', so it's suppose to look more like real wood.