Laminate Flooring For Shower Walls?? - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-26-2012, 08:52 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Smile

Laminate flooring for shower walls??

I'm new to this diy stuff! I will be completely remodeling my bathroom soon and right now I'm just tossing ideas around. I am stumped for what to do with the walls where my corner tub/shower will be. I want something that is easy to clean and maintain and that is durable. I can't do a wall surround because there is a window in the shower/tub. I do not like tile and so don't want to go that route. I enjoy the natural stone look but can't afford the real thing. I was looking into using laminate flooring for shower walls. Will this work? Will it be able to maintain that much moisture from a shower? I'm just not sure....any advice, on this project or anything else pertaining to a bathroom remodel would be greatly appreicated!

Advertisement

qwertzy81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 09:05 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 738

Very very bad idea.
Most laminite is not even below grade rated never mind butting it in an area you know is going to get wet.

Ever installed laminite on a floor? It needs to be tapped into place. How would you do that if it was on a wall?
Laminite needs to be able to expand and contract.

The best thing you could do is get rid of that window.

There's lots of enclosures you can cut and install around a window.
Just remove all the trim install the enclosure and installed vinyl lumber trim instead of the old wood and seal it up as it's installed.

Advertisement

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
qwertzy81 (11-26-2012), tribe_fan (11-26-2012)
Old 11-26-2012, 09:15 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 258