Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2008, 12:35 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 48
Share |
Default

Kitchen underlayment questions for porcelain


Hi everyone,
I am planning on having porcelain tile laid for my kitchen floor & was wondering if anyone had recommendations regarding underlayment. I am on the 3rd floor of a condo building & my subfloor is a concrete slab (not sure of its thickness).
For my LR & BR I am planning on using floormuffler under 3/4" advantech as underlayment for a strand woven bamboo floor, but I know that kitchens are a different ballgame (so to speak).
Thanks to everyone here!

eis61374 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 12:38 PM   #2
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Default

Kitchen underlayment questions for porcelain


Ditra.

__________________
when it comes to breakfast, the chicken is dedicated, the pig is committed.
LMASD
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 12:52 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 48
Default

Kitchen underlayment questions for porcelain


Thanks Rippy, is there any sort of insulation &/or underlayment that is recommended to be put down first? Or should the ditra be laid directly on top of the concrete?
Thanks for your advice.
eis61374 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 01:11 PM   #4
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Default

Kitchen underlayment questions for porcelain


In a normal install, attached via thin-set to the concrete. Does your building have any requirements given you're having tile on concrete, that could be loud for the lower neighbors...
__________________
when it comes to breakfast, the chicken is dedicated, the pig is committed.
LMASD
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 02:02 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 48
Default

Kitchen underlayment questions for porcelain


Ahhhhh..yes I believe the condo does require some sort of noise barrier. In that case could I perhaps lay floormufler on the concrete & then place some sort of underlayment (perhaps advantech) on top of that, similar to what I am doing for the bamboo install? From there would I be able to install the ditra/porcelain over that?
Thanks again!!!!
eis61374 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 09:39 PM   #6
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 4,042
Default

Kitchen underlayment questions for porcelain


I don't understand why Advantech is being considered in this installation? Advantech, plywood or OSB, should not be installed on a floor other than regular suspended wooden joists construction. You said the floor is concrete.

Concrete? Maybe, maybe not. Usually these floors are Gypcrete or similar, not concrete. There is a difference.

You need to figure out what it is for sure, also confirm that a noise reduction method is required, (usually is), and what db reduction factor is recommended etc. Get the facts, report back.

Jaz
__________________
Tile 4 You LLC Troy, MI

DITRA Installs - KERDI Watertight-Mold-Free Showers. I have NEVER made a mistake, I thought I did ONCE, but, I was WRONG! A+ BBB rating - est. 1987 - over 50 yrs. exp.
JazMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 11:12 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 48
Default

Kitchen underlayment questions for porcelain


Hey Jaz how's it going?
According to the builders/developer it is a concrete sub-floor. The structure of the current flooring (that I am removing) is as follows:

*1/8" insulayment http://www.mpglobalproducts.com/insu...fications.html laid over concrete & haphazardly duct taped at the seams
-on top of that-
*Two(2) layers of 3/8" plywood laid "railroad style" & screwed together
-on top of that-
*3/4" white oak stapled at a 45 degree angle into the plywood

Are you saying the Advantech &/or plywood, osb should not be used at all when installing over concrete? or just not in a kitchen? If you mean not at all then what is your recommendation re: the proper installation for porcelain tile in a kitchen (& strand woven bamboo in a LR & BR) when the sub-floor is concrete?
Thanks for any help.
PS
Since the insulayment was installed at the time of construction, & the floormuffler surpasses the insulayment in noise reduction, I believed it would be fine. Plus it has a moisture barrier. Am I dumb for thinking this?
eis61374 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 11:07 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 48
Default

Kitchen underlayment questions for porcelain


Bump. Anyone? Jaz?
eis61374 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 11:46 PM   #9
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 4,042
Default

Kitchen underlayment questions for porcelain


Ceramic tiles are adhered direct to concrete or over a membrane of some type. There is no approved method to install plywood or anything similar to concrete and then expect a successful ceramic installation. There is no need or benefit to your plan to use Advantech.

You may need to install a membrane direct to your concrete if there are any cracks or joints in the concrete. Some membranes come in liquid form. There are membranes that bridge cracks, are a waterproofing and are noise reduction. Often noise reduction is stipulated in multi-family buildings such as yours. The management will tell you the specs.

Jaz
__________________
Tile 4 You LLC Troy, MI

DITRA Installs - KERDI Watertight-Mold-Free Showers. I have NEVER made a mistake, I thought I did ONCE, but, I was WRONG! A+ BBB rating - est. 1987 - over 50 yrs. exp.
JazMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 12:24 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 48
Default

Kitchen underlayment questions for porcelain


Thanks so much Jaz. I will look into Ditra for the kitchen. Regarding wood floor installation thruout the rest of my apartment, could you explain why advantech should not be used when done over concrete? I cannot get thru the distributor.

eis61374 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions on drywal setup for hanging kitchen cabinets... ericblair Remodeling 5 07-14-2008 04:49 PM
kitchen questions mivon Electrical 3 04-15-2008 07:50 AM
Kitchen Wiring Questions Chazbe Electrical 22 04-11-2008 04:06 PM
Tiling my kitchen floor, couple of questions Yeti Flooring 14 03-27-2008 09:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.