Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-15-2013, 03:43 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 25

Kerdi with pan liner

Is there any problem with having a kerdi layer on the finishing deck mud on top of a standard liner? I would think it makes no difference but want to confirm this.

busyhammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 08:27 PM   #2
DIY staff

Rewards Points: 2,368

Kerdi with pan liner

The one issue would be the style of drain--Kerdi is bonded to the drain so water can not get under it---the liner uses a drain that will prevent that from working---I hope Jaz looks at this---I'm not experienced with the Schluter products.

Old 08-15-2013, 09:01 PM   #3
Tileguy

Rewards Points: 2,000

Kerdi with pan liner

I'd like a detailed explanation and a few pics, but my answer is don't do it.

You're not likely to make the Kerdi waterproof without the Kerdi drain. Water will get in the deck mud and then the mud can not dry by evaporation.

Which to a Kerdi drain with Kerdi fabric, now you're talking a good shower!

Jaz

DITRA Installs - KERDI Watertight-Mold-Free Showers. I have NEVER made a mistake, I thought I did ONCE, but, I was WRONG! A+ BBB rating - est. 1987 - over 50 yrs. exp.
JazMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 09:04 PM   #4

Kerdi with pan liner

Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike
The one issue would be the style of drain--Kerdi is bonded to the drain so water can not get under it---the liner uses a drain that will prevent that from working---I hope Jaz looks at this---I'm not experienced with the Schluter products.
I won't have the kerdi drain but my feeling is that whatever water gets to the liner from around the drain will leave via the weep holes like a regular installation. The reason I'd like the kerdi is that I'd like to keep the mud layer as dry as possible everywhere else which I'm thinking is worth it.
Old 08-15-2013, 09:12 PM   #5