Just Took Up My Master Bath Floor Help!! - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-30-2008, 06:48 PM   #1
Jamcou2020

Rewards Points: 10

Just Took up my master bath Floor Help!!

Hi All this is my first post, I would like to say hi to everyone on the site and to thank all of for your help. My girlfriend wanted me to replace the floor in our home in the master bath. The original flooring was Vinyl. I would like to replace it with tile flooring. To my amazement when I finished pulling up the vinyl flooring I found what looks to be mold to me. I am a novice to this type of work. Please see the pictures below any advice is greatly appreciated thank you all.

Just Took up my master bath Floor Help!!-img_0662.jpg

Just Took up my master bath Floor Help!!-img_0663.jpg

Just Took up my master bath Floor Help!!-img_0664.jpg

Just Took up my master bath Floor Help!!-img_0665.jpg

Just Took up my master bath Floor Help!!-img_0666.jpg

Just Took up my master bath Floor Help!!-img_0668.jpg

Advertisement

jamcou2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 08:09 PM   #2
K&B Remodeler/Tile Guy

Rewards Points: 500

Yep, prolly is. It's not uncommon in a bathroom that hasn't been built to be waterproof. Actually, in my experience when you demo a bathroom, you will find mold.
The layer of material that has the adhesive still on it should be removed too. I'm assuming it's a layer of luan (or similar) that has been stapled to your subfloor. If it is, tear that out also. You'll have to remove the toilet to fully get it out.
When it comes to putting a new floor down, consider using Ditra instead of the typical cement backer board.
By the way, not only do I see potential mold, I see Amstel!!!!

Advertisement

Old 12-30-2008, 08:35 PM   #3
Jamcou2020

Quote:
Originally Posted by angus242 View Post