Installing New Sub Floor - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2012, 10:21 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing new sub floor


Looking for some advice.
I just finished ripping out my old floor down to the joists (16" OC). I want to install tile floor and the old subfloor was sub-standard. I am thinking 3/4 Advantech (or should I use 3/4 inch T&G ply?) as a subfloor, then a 1/4 inch hardibacker board. Is this okay?

Advertisement

schorsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 10:26 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,728
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Installing new sub floor


Advantec with constrution adhesive on the joist.
How wide are the joist and what's the spans?

Advertisement

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 10:32 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing new sub floor


joists are 2x8 and span about 10 feet.

I am also confused about unmodified vs. modified thinset. What should be used UNDER the hardibacker?
schorsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 10:38 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,728
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Installing new sub floor


If it was mine since you only have 2 X 8 joist I would go over the Advantec with at least 3/8, 1/2 would be better A/C subfloor rated plywood, making sure to not have the seams line up with the seams in the subflooring and no glue.
It needs to be nailed every 4" on the edges and every 6 to 8" in the field.

I just like to play it safe, not fun doing all that work and have the grout keep failing.

Check all the floor joist to see if there all even before laying the subfloor.
Just pulling a piece of brick string tight or using a 6' level will work.
It does not need to be level, it needs to be flat.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
schorsch (08-30-2012)
Old 08-30-2012, 11:47 AM   #5
Pro
 
JetSwet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lagrangeville NY
Posts: 1,008
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Installing new sub floor


Joes right to go over advantech with 1/2" a/c over lap seams of the advantech. Backer holds no subfloor support so you will need the inch or more of ply.
Use modified thinset for cbu & tile

What size tile & trowel size you planing to go with?
JetSwet is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sub floor , tile


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a basement subfloor around floor drains temetnosce Remodeling 3 08-06-2012 05:40 PM
Installing floor in family room with high ceiling. jrwilkinsonjr Building & Construction 1 05-08-2011 03:00 PM
Basement Floor Variance Allowance When Installing Ceramic Tile june Introductions 0 10-26-2010 11:09 AM
installing a drain in a concrete floor monikakelly Plumbing 1 03-17-2009 01:17 AM
Question on installing floating hardwood floor loragail Flooring 7 10-23-2006 10:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts