Installing Hardwoods, Cant Locate Studs - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2011, 06:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Smile

Installing hardwoods, cant locate studs


Hi I am attempting my first DIY project as a new homeowner - installing 3/4" mahogany floors. I have the old floors torn up, my baseboards have been removed and thankfully I have a nice, thick, plywood sub floor underneath. But without tearning up the plywood I dont know where my studs are.

1. Can I simply nail the hardwoods into the plywood instead of the studs?

2. I purchased some heavy duty roll on roofing paper as my buffer between the sub floor and the hardwoods, is this sufficient?

3. Can I just place a nice, baseboard/trim over the hardwoods, and not use quarter round? The old floors I tore up didnt have any quarter round and they looked just fine.

Any feedback would be really appreciated. Thanks everyone!

Advertisement

GlennM515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 06:21 PM   #2
PRO
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing hardwoods, cant locate studs


1. Yes
2. No
3. Sure, but it's not going to look good.

Advertisement

BrandConst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 06:22 PM   #3
Member
 
woodman58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Blackwell, Missouri
Posts: 454
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Installing hardwoods, cant locate studs


1. Can I simply nail the hardwoods into the plywood instead of the studs?

Yes, but you can find the studs by looking to see where the nails are. They will be in a line with the studs.

Yes

3. Can I just place a nice, baseboard/trim over the hardwoods, and not use quarter round? The old floors I tore up didnt have any quarter round and they looked just fine.

Yes, but you need to make sure that you leave at least 3/8 inch (should be 3/4") gap at the walls. If you leave a 3/8" gap you will have to cut out the bottom of the dry wall. to allow for the 3/4" space. Make sure and acclimate the wood.
woodman58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 06:29 PM   #4
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10,483
Rewards Points: 2,614
Default

Installing hardwoods, cant locate studs


woodman58:>>> "Yes, but you need to make sure that you leave at least 3/8 inch (should be 3/4") gap from the edge of the flooring to the walls. If you leave a 3/8" gap you will have to cut out the bottom of the dry wall. to allow for the 3/4" space. Make sure and acclimate the wood."

Sorry woodman58, I modified your statement a little, I couldn't sleep tonight if I hadn't.
__________________
XXX
Bud Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 06:33 PM   #5
Member
 
woodman58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Blackwell, Missouri
Posts: 454
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Installing hardwoods, cant locate studs


No problem! Thanks Bud
woodman58 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to woodman58 For This Useful Post:
Bud Cline (06-28-2011)
Old 06-29-2011, 07:27 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing hardwoods, cant locate studs


Thanks everyone, these comments are really helpful!

One follow-up question...if I shouldnt use the roll on roofing as my barrier, what should I place between the subfloor and hardwood?

Thanks!
GlennM515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 08:40 PM   #7
Member
 
woodman58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Blackwell, Missouri
Posts: 454
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Installing hardwoods, cant locate studs


You can use roofing felt. I use 15#. It is suppose to be a moisture barrier but, it makes a better dust barrier.

Advertisement

woodman58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
base board , hardwood floor , studs


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stud spacing when installing enclosure not enough az_r2d1 Building & Construction 23 03-26-2011 11:01 PM
attaching tub surround directly to studs? upslims Building & Construction 11 04-07-2009 10:39 AM
Pre-hung door with metal studs gmainolfi Building & Construction 4 02-07-2009 09:42 PM
Attaching Studs to Concrete/Which way mjkpainting Carpentry 17 12-30-2008 11:02 AM
Help Me.....installing Wall Safe shaw Carpentry 7 10-01-2006 05:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts