DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Installing Hardwood questions

8K views 10 replies 4 participants last post by  HardwoodGuy 
#1 · (Edited)
Sorry this is wordy, but any help would be great!

I currently have solid ¾ x 2 ¼ red oak flooring installed on most of my 1st floor and stairs leading to the second floor. I would like to install ¾ x 2 ¼ maple on the second floor in 5 rooms and a hallway. The second floor is currently carpeted. There are 4 bedrooms, 1 hallway and an office at the end of the hallway. It is laid out with 2 10x10 bedrooms on one side of the hallway. Across from them are the master bedroom, bathroom with a marble threshold, another bedroom (10x12) and the hardwood stairs.

Because I am new at installing flooring, and due to time constraints (my full-time job), I’d like to start the installation in the smallest room (10x10) and go in stages. I would pull up the carpet in one room, lay down the floor, and probably not get to another room for a few weeks or even a month or two.

My questions are:
Do you recommend installing in stages?
Does it matter which room I start in?
Do I do the bedrooms 1st and hallway last?
Would it be a good idea to put down a wide strip of flooring, in the doorways, instead of trying to do a continuous run?
I’m not really sure how to handle the transitions from the bedrooms into the hallway.
I’m not sure how to work with the hardwood stair nose that’s already there as well as the marble threshold of the bathroom. I only know that the flooring would run parallel to these objects.

The house is only 6ys old. The subfloor is ¾” plywood. Other than rosin or felt paper, do I need to put anything else down?

See less See more
#2 ·
Which way do your floor joist run? Assuming they run from right to left the first picture with your hallway, I'd do the hall way running it across the joist (with the hall way) then work into each bed room.

#3 ·