Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-17-2011, 01:39 PM   #1
Work Hard, Play Harder
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 244
Share |
Default

Installing Bamboo Hardwood, wondering about underlayment.


Hello,

Apologies for starting another thread; I posted in the existing thread and didn't get a response and I'm really looking for help on this. I've been lurking for quite a while; I can usually just search and find my answer...

House was a fire rehab; floor was in OK condition; I put screws in every foot or so; alternating between the original joists (Which are in great shape) and the sistered joist. Replaced boards as needed. Got nice stable floor. Wanted to give it a little more structure so I also put plywood over the top (spaced, etc).

I'm on to underlayment. I bought premium underlayment from Lowe's that has a vapor barrior, sound barrier, mold inhibitor; etc. I mostly bought it for the sound and increased r-value.

Can I use this underlayment, or do I need to 'step back' and just use the paper???

It's not a floating floor or egineered; it is hardwood.

Thanks,

coderguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 02:03 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 951
Default

Installing Bamboo Hardwood, wondering about underlayment.


I put 15# felt under mine. Don't know the answer to your question though.

pyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 02:51 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 211
Default

Installing Bamboo Hardwood, wondering about underlayment.


What actually do you have for a substrate ?
How thick is the plywood ?
Are you installing Bamboo ?
Felt is fine , Aquabar B is better .
Is substrate flat 1/8" in 6' or 3/16" in 10 ' ?
Temp,and RH in house ?
MC in substrate ?
Floor Doc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 03:13 PM   #4
Work Hard, Play Harder
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 244
Default

Installing Bamboo Hardwood, wondering about underlayment.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Floor Doc View Post
What actually do you have for a substrate ?
How thick is the plywood ?
Are you installing Bamboo ?
Felt is fine , Aquabar B is better .
Is substrate flat 1/8" in 6' or 3/16" in 10 ' ?
Temp,and RH in house ?
MC in substrate ?
The plywood is only half-inch; the floor was level and solid; the plywood was because I thought a few of the gaps between boards were too wide.
The house was build in 1897,the substrate was some kind of hard wood planking. I had to replace some of the boards.

It is indeed Bamboo:
Construction: Solid
Dimensions: 3.75" w x 37.75" l x 5/8" th
Species: Moso6 Premium Mature 6 Year Moso Bamboo
Finish: Endura AR UV-cured Aluminum Oxide
Edge: Micro-bevel
Installation Areas: On or Above Grade
Installation Method: Glue, Staple, Nail

Temp in house is 70ish constant in the zone the floor will be in (We just had all ductwork, insulation, furnace, A/C replaced).

I am not sure what you mean by MC in substrate.

Thanks for the help guys!

Last edited by coderguy; 02-17-2011 at 03:22 PM.
coderguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 05:21 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 211
Default

Installing Bamboo Hardwood, wondering about underlayment.


MC - Moisture Content .
The only accurate way to test MC in Boo is a oven bake test .
I suggest you leave it in the house for a month to acclimate .
Didn't ask if the substrate was level , asked if it was flat to the above tolerance. two different animals .
If you don't have a 6' level . duct tape a 10' string at one end - pull it tight and tape . check for any gaps under the string .
move one end of the string every foot in a circle and check .
Floor Doc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 07:52 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Installing Bamboo Hardwood, wondering about underlayment.


Hi Coderguy,
Take a look at Tryoc www.tyroc.us This is an underlayment that solves most finished flooring issues over any substrate flooring (wood or cement). Tyroc provides a moisture and vapor barrier all in one as well as anit-fracture and decoupling if you were tiling over it. It will take an finished flooring product you want to use. Is 100% green. And will warm your finished floor by 15 degrees. You can find my contact information on our website if you have any further questions.

Doug_W
Doug_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 09:57 AM   #7
Work Hard, Play Harder
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 244
Default

Installing Bamboo Hardwood, wondering about underlayment.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Floor Doc View Post
MC - Moisture Content .
The only accurate way to test MC in Boo is a oven bake test .
I suggest you leave it in the house for a month to acclimate .
Didn't ask if the substrate was level , asked if it was flat to the above tolerance. two different animals .
If you don't have a 6' level . duct tape a 10' string at one end - pull it tight and tape . check for any gaps under the string .
move one end of the string every foot in a circle and check .
The Bamboo has been in the house (and in the room - I've been moving it back and forth accross the room when working) for a month. :-)

I communicated badly; the floor is flat & level (within acceptable margins).

I'm just trying to figure out if I can use this underlayment or if I need to return it and just buy paper.

The room is 9'x19' (171 sq. ft.)

Last edited by coderguy; 02-18-2011 at 10:20 AM.
coderguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 10:29 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 211
Default

Installing Bamboo Hardwood, wondering about underlayment.


15 lb felt is fine .
I don't think that stuff has the holding power for hardwood. they also don't mention wood in the video .
Roll out the length of the felt that you need and flip it over . It will lay flat without using any staples .
Floor Doc is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Floor Doc For This Useful Post:
coderguy (02-20-2011)
Old 02-18-2011, 10:34 AM   #9
Work Hard, Play Harder
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 244
Default

Installing Bamboo Hardwood, wondering about underlayment.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Floor Doc View Post
15 lb felt is fine .
I don't think that stuff has the holding power for hardwood. they also don't mention wood in the video .
Roll out the length of the felt that you need and flip it over . It will lay flat without using any staples .
Video?

Ok, I'll have to dig out the receipts.

I really appreciate the help and the reminders on checking the flatness of the floor. We bought the Bamboo before I found the fire damage (too long a story for this thread). We ended up running new ductwork/etc throughout the house; so the Bamboo should be well acclimated.
coderguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 11:09 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 211
Default

Installing Bamboo Hardwood, wondering about underlayment.


Welcome
Link is in post 6 from Doug.
I can tell you horror stories with dealing with Big box stores ,and flooring failures .
Good Luck.
Floor Doc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 11:24 AM   #11
Work Hard, Play Harder
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 244
Default

Installing Bamboo Hardwood, wondering about underlayment.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Floor Doc View Post
Welcome
Link is in post 6 from Doug.
I can tell you horror stories with dealing with Big box stores ,and flooring failures .
Good Luck.
Oh, yes; I watched the video. I wasn't able to find any type of pricing information and it seemed to only mention being an underlayment for concrete substrate.

I have been able to avoid the boxes for most things; but in researching the Bamboo; I ended up on the US Floors brand and it was available from Lowes. I just didn't hear good things about lumber liquidators/etc and I didn't want to ship the Bamboo from Cali Bamboo.

I have well documented everything; with lots of pics; so if it turns into a horror story I will share it for all to learn from :-)
coderguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 09:55 PM   #12
Work Hard, Play Harder
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 244
Default

Installing Bamboo Hardwood, wondering about underlayment.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Floor Doc View Post
Welcome
Link is in post 6 from Doug.
I can tell you horror stories with dealing with Big box stores ,and flooring failures .
Good Luck.
Hey Doug,

Thanks for the help. I'm no 'pro'; I made a disaster of the doorway (didn't cut and go under frame). Still turned out nicely for a disaster room....

http://georgefrick.blogspot.com/2011...ct-part-1.html
coderguy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to coderguy For This Useful Post:
MMurphy2001 (02-22-2011)
Old 02-20-2011, 11:42 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 211
Default

Installing Bamboo Hardwood, wondering about underlayment.


Came out real nice Coder .
Just pop up the board at the jam - undercut it , and put a new board there .
Floor Doc is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Floor Doc For This Useful Post:
coderguy (02-22-2011)
Old 02-22-2011, 09:06 PM   #14
Work Hard, Play Harder
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 244
Default

Installing Bamboo Hardwood, wondering about underlayment.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Floor Doc View Post
Came out real nice Coder .
Just pop up the board at the jam - undercut it , and put a new board there .

Ok, maybe you can help me out one more time..

I counter set the nails correctly; and I bought some wood putty to fill the holes. Is this correct? What is my best method for filling these holes?

Going to try some in the closet tonight where nobody will see, then check back here...
coderguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 10:55 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 211
Default

Installing Bamboo Hardwood, wondering about underlayment.


Just push it in the hole with your finger making sure to wipe any extra off the face .

Floor Doc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing plywood underlayment benr Flooring 11 03-05-2014 10:53 AM
Tiling over hardwood in bathroom - Underlayment? RayRay1 Flooring 9 03-01-2011 11:11 PM
underlayment for click and lock hardwood flooring fawnlion Flooring 2 12-06-2010 03:03 PM
Installing Hardwood in Tricky SpotHi, georgemichael Flooring 1 11-20-2006 10:47 PM
Installing Help! hardwood flooring in Hot&Humid weather dvarga Flooring 7 08-08-2005 05:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.