DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

I need advice on installing self-adhesive floor tiles

4K views 2 replies 3 participants last post by  kjwoodworking 
#1 ·
Hi. This is my first time posting here. I have a question that I'm hoping someone can help me with. We had to pull up the carpet in the hallway of our home because I couldn't stand the odor coming from it any longer. We had cats in the past that preferred it to their litter box.

Due to financial restrictions, my husband and I decided that we would go with what I refer to as a "temporary, indefinite fix". We are going to install some of the self-adhesive floor tiles. Our dilemma in installing these tiles is where to measure and snap the chalk lines for lining up the tiles.

The hallway is in a T shape. The hallway is not the same width at one end as it is on the other end of either part of the T. (The builders didn't do a very good job of squaring up their work.) The top part of the T has six doors leading to bedrooms, closets and bathroom. The bottom of the T has one closet door in it. The bottom part of the T stops at the foyer which has parquet type wood flooring.

The instructions that came with the tile said to draw a line 12" to the wall that is farthest from the door. I can't exactly do that since there are so many doors. I thought about measuring the line 12" from the wall that makes the top part of the T, but then I run into the problem with the walls not being square. Is this still the best place to start? If I do this, then I will have partial pieces meeting up with the foyar floor. Will this look alright? I plan to put a wood piece down where the two different flooring meet to give it a "professional" finished look.

Also, should I mark a chalk line down the center of the bottom part of the T to cross with the line on the top part of the T?

I hope all this make sense and that someone out there can help me. Thanks in advance for any help.

See less See more
#2 ·
Peel 'n' Stick tiles

Hello,