Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-12-2013, 05:30 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Huge gash in black hardwood floors

Hi!
I am new to the DIY chatrooms. I am a grad student in NY and made a huge mistake trying to move a bookcase myself one afternoon. As the entire bookshelf fell to the floor it left a huge gash in the wood of my rented apartments ebony hard wood flooring, as well as my leg. Although I wish my leg would still have the gash and not the floor... thats how bad my landlord is.

So I tried filling it will a dark wood fill. See example photo. Now its still bumpy and matte rather than shiny.

Does anyone have any advice ?
If I did have a professional come in, who would I call ?
How much would it cost ?
Do you think I could possibly fill it in more and put a lacquer over it ?
Let me know what you think. Any suggestions would be extremely helpful!

Thanks again,
Jess
Attached Thumbnails
Huge gash in black hardwood floors-photo.jpg  

ConfusedChick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 05:41 PM   #2
Architectural Sculptor

Rewards Points: 500

They put black EBONY on the floors?? I've never heard of that, especially since the cost of ebony is around $75 a board foot, it's mainly used for things like accents and trim on musical instruments and small items. I suspect your floor is probbably something like hard maple stained black but who knows.
Even Bill gates would be hard pressed to have an entire floor made in real solid ebony wood!
Wood filler and stain is probably about your best option short of replacing that board which will be difficult for you to find one that matches, and then cutting the damaged one out.