Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-23-2011, 03:49 PM   #1

Share |

How would you do the transition for this bathroom?

I'm going to tile the bathroom, but I'm not sure what should be done for the threshold. For the bathroom, I'm going to lay down 1/2" sheetrock, then tile on top of that. That will raise the floor roughly level with the hardwood flooring (hardwood is 3/4" thick) or at most upto 1/4" higher than the hardwood floor.

So the question is, how would you do this? Install durock/tile upto 1/2" from the wood (leaving a 1/2" gap between the wood and the tile), and then use a T molding like pictured below? Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. As my SN suggests, I'm new to the DIY stuff at home, but I'm learning as I go (taken several different home improvement type classes and have many books). I just want to know what the "right way" is, and am open to any and all suggestions.

Edit: Title should say "How would you do the transition for this bathroom." Can't edit the title.. damn..
Attached Thumbnails
How would you do the transition for this bathroom?-20111123_161807.jpg   How would you do the transition for this bathroom?-20111123_163410-1.jpg  

NewHomeDIYGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 04:58 PM   #2

they also make a 1/4" underlay for ceramic tile the name escapes me at the moment....that would save you 1/4" and keep you flush with wood floor...

ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 05:27 PM   #3
Pro Flooring Installer

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewHomeDIYGuy View Post
I'm going to tile the bathroom, but I'm not sure what should be done for the threshold. For the bathroom, I'm going to lay down 1/2" sheetrock, then tile on top of that.
I hope the word "sheetrock" is a typo.
rusty baker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 10:25 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by ben's plumbing View Post