Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-30-2013, 09:16 PM   #1
jkk
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 85
Share |
Default

How to trim out laminate at railing


This railing has a curved base. The laminate will meet this base at a curved surface. How can I cover this joint?
Attached Thumbnails
How to trim out laminate at railing-image-1505994650.jpg  
jkk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 07:44 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,513
Default

How to trim out laminate at railing


What your going to be dealing with around that whole set of stairs is just one of the many reasons I'd never suggest using laminate on a second floor.
How do you plan on transitioning around that top step without leaving a trip hazard?
Looks like your stuck with having to use a transition strip between the two.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 07:55 AM   #3
STAFF
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 6,637
Blog Entries: 1
Default

How to trim out laminate at railing


Try cutting the flooring on a back angle so just the top edge touches.
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

Jim
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 11:45 AM   #4
jkk
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 85
Default

How to trim out laminate at railing


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption
What your going to be dealing with around that whole set of stairs is just one of the many reasons I'd never suggest using laminate on a second floor.
How do you plan on transitioning around that top step without leaving a trip hazard?
Looks like your stuck with having to use a transition strip between the two.
Although the problem still exists, these are basement steps, from the first floor. I have a transition that I'm experimenting with. It is a very low ridge (1/8") but yes, might be a possible trip hazard.
Attached Thumbnails
How to trim out laminate at railing-image-3531349497.jpg  
jkk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:34 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,513
Default

How to trim out laminate at railing


The problem I've had with a strip like that is if you look at the end of it all there is a paper thin layer of what looks like shelve paper. Step on it a few times and it's trashed.
It also tends to crack where it over lays the flooring because it's so thin.

Cutting that flooring at an angle is not going to work in my option. Reason being you have to leave room for expansion so there's going to be a visible gap and the core of the floor will be showing.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 02:11 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sarasota,Florida
Posts: 1,293
Default

How to trim out laminate at railing


About all you can do is cut the 1/8th ridge off,then under cut the transition piece so it will butt up flush to the flooring.
Canarywood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 02:50 PM   #7
jkk
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 85
Default

How to trim out laminate at railing


Quote:
Originally Posted by Canarywood1
About all you can do is cut the 1/8th ridge off,then under cut the transition piece so it will butt up flush to the flooring.
I think I'll buy a piece of hardwood bullnose, use a router to trim the bottom to get the right height, and maybe add a lip that slips under the laminate so that the laminate does not depress much when stepped on at the joint to the bullnose. Then get a stain that matches close enough.
jkk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 03:16 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sarasota,Florida
Posts: 1,293
Default

How to trim out laminate at railing


Quote:
Originally Posted by jkk View Post
I think I'll buy a piece of hardwood bullnose, use a router to trim the bottom to get the right height, and maybe add a lip that slips under the laminate so that the laminate does not depress much when stepped on at the joint to the bullnose. Then get a stain that matches close enough.


As long as you have a router just make a bullnose and cut a tongue to fit your engineered,instead of putting a lip to go under the tread.
Canarywood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re-using laminate wingman1153 Building & Construction 10 04-30-2013 11:51 AM
replace trim on a laminate wall unit vzince Carpentry 4 03-03-2013 08:21 PM
Painting trim brown to match wood trim? Sofia26 Painting 2 12-10-2012 10:23 PM
New Roof but Fascia Trim Board Rotting ein0801 Roofing/Siding 6 07-15-2012 12:21 AM
laminate moving in one direction nlmedic Flooring 2 03-01-2011 07:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.