Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-23-2012, 08:37 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

How thick can I set the thinset-Have to increase elevation


Hello
I have lay tiles before...not an expert....but this time I have spots in my new patio that needs to be raised in order to look good.....would I have to call an expert and level the area before I tile...or can I raise the thinset a little more and properly level?...we are talking about about 1/2 inche extra

fta123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 08:58 AM   #2
Jack of all Trades
 
lifestooshort81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: [northern] New Jersey
Posts: 83
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How thick can I set the thinset-Have to increase elevation


Quote:
Originally Posted by fta123
Hello
I have lay tiles before...not an expert....but this time I have spots in my new patio that needs to be raised in order to look good.....would I have to call an expert and level the area before I tile...or can I raise the thinset a little more and properly level?...we are talking about about 1/2 inche extra
I think you can use thinset to raise 1/2" however since this is an outdoor application you may run into trouble. My suggestion would be to go buy some sand mix (quickrete. Home depot carries it). Mix it up really dry to the consistency of wet sand. Sand mix or sand topping mix is just sand and portland cement. I use this all the time for doing shower pans. Use it to pre-level the area and if you want to be even safer, throw a piece of wire lath under it.

There is also a self-leveler product you mix up and pour. It finds it's way to the low spots and sets up over night and you should be good to tile over. It's expensive that's the only drawback. Less work though.

Good luck!
Al

lifestooshort81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 09:06 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How thick can I set the thinset-Have to increase elevation


I think I like the idea of the self leveling products, but since this is on a patio deck....and I have to make sure the proper grading continues on the deck with the other sides....what can I use to verify level....??? do they sell any straight edge tools ( like a level) that would be long enough...I am thinking 4 or 5' long
fta123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 09:45 AM   #4
Jack of all Trades
 
lifestooshort81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: [northern] New Jersey
Posts: 83
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How thick can I set the thinset-Have to increase elevation


Well of course you can use a level :p they make levels in increments of 2'. I know for a fact depot sells 4' 6' &8' levels but i wouldnt mess up an expensive level as a straight edge. I think a taught string would be better then cut up some screed boards. Does this make sense? you can also use a straight piece of flat aluminum or good straight lumber for a straight edge.

Without seeing your project it's hard to explain.
lifestooshort81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 09:47 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How thick can I set the thinset-Have to increase elevation


It does makes perfect sence...thanks for the advice
fta123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 01:05 PM   #6
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 4,071
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How thick can I set the thinset-Have to increase elevation


Thin set to raise the substrate 1/2" is not a good idea.

Using Sand Topping Mix might be even worse.

Use a patching/topping mix made for the purpose. Be sure it's for outdoors and may require a primer.

Jaz
__________________
Tile 4 You LLC Troy, MI

DITRA Installs - KERDI Watertight-Mold-Free Showers. I have NEVER made a mistake, I thought I did ONCE, but, I was WRONG! A+ BBB rating - est. 1987 - over 50 yrs. exp.
JazMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 01:56 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How thick can I set the thinset-Have to increase elevation


Use a patching/topping mix made for the purpose:

Can you recommend by name which ones?
fta123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 04:00 PM   #8
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 4,071
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How thick can I set the thinset-Have to increase elevation


Why don't yous guys post where the heck you're from when you register. How can we give accurate advice without knowing if you're in the USA, Canada, down under or China? How is the weather there, are you in North Dakota or New Mexico? It might make a difference no? What stores are you close to?

Jaz
__________________
Tile 4 You LLC Troy, MI

DITRA Installs - KERDI Watertight-Mold-Free Showers. I have NEVER made a mistake, I thought I did ONCE, but, I was WRONG! A+ BBB rating - est. 1987 - over 50 yrs. exp.
JazMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 06:21 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 115
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How thick can I set the thinset-Have to increase elevation


Quick, related question. Assuming Ditra was used....how much height is added in standard install of thinset under ditra, and then thinset under tile over ditra. In other words, how much height is added to a job by using two layers of thinset in the overall install?
Didymus21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 08:35 PM   #10
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 4,071
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How thick can I set the thinset-Have to increase elevation


Hi, and now a question from someone in Portland OR.

The mortar under Ditra adds nothing. So, Ditra installed is 1/8" total.

The thickness of the cured thin set over Ditra is no different than if there was no Ditra. That is determined by the trowel you use to match the type and size of the tiles being set. Typically the thin set is between 3/32 & 1/8".

Jaz
__________________
Tile 4 You LLC Troy, MI

DITRA Installs - KERDI Watertight-Mold-Free Showers. I have NEVER made a mistake, I thought I did ONCE, but, I was WRONG! A+ BBB rating - est. 1987 - over 50 yrs. exp.
JazMan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JazMan For This Useful Post:
Didymus21 (08-23-2012)
Old 08-25-2012, 01:16 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How thick can I set the thinset-Have to increase elevation


Im in San Antonio , Texas. Mostly dry. 95-100"s on the high of the summer... Maybe 32 coldest on winter
fta123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 01:26 PM   #12
Haverhill Trade 1965
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 532
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How thick can I set the thinset-Have to increase elevation


Some brand names are Top and Bond for over concrete, Levelastic for over wood. There are others that are similar. most use latex additive to make it stick better and make them slightly flexible.
Duckweather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 06:07 AM   #13
Jack of all Trades
 
lifestooshort81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: [northern] New Jersey
Posts: 83
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How thick can I set the thinset-Have to increase elevation


Hey Jazman!

I have my location information posted in my profile but I have my suspicions that when you use something like the iPhone app its not showing it! I've had a similar problem on my truck message board. I'm in new jersey.

Just so I don't potentially screw up another job down the road why wood you not use sand/topping mix and wire lath to level the area?

Thanks Much,
Al in new jersey
lifestooshort81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 08:39 PM   #14
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 4,071
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How thick can I set the thinset-Have to increase elevation


Quote:
Just so I don't potentially screw up another job down the road why wood you not use sand/topping mix and wire lath to level the area?
The Op was talking about patching a patio that has some irregularities up to 1/2". I assume the repair will require feathering down to zero. So sand/topping would not work. Sand topping is Ok if you're applying it about 1" or more, just like a shower base.

BTW, you do not automatically use lath to do a base. If the base is concrete you can bond it with thin set or neat Portland slurry.

Being from NJ, you must be thinking of a "Jersey Mud Job" (aka scratch coat), method when installing floors over a wooden subfloor. Not sure if you know, but that's a method that has never passed when tested to industry standards. It seems to be popular in Jersey and many part of Canada. Anything to cut corners I guess.

Jaz
__________________
Tile 4 You LLC Troy, MI

DITRA Installs - KERDI Watertight-Mold-Free Showers. I have NEVER made a mistake, I thought I did ONCE, but, I was WRONG! A+ BBB rating - est. 1987 - over 50 yrs. exp.
JazMan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JazMan For This Useful Post:
lifestooshort81 (09-03-2012)
Old 08-26-2012, 09:33 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 513
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How thick can I set the thinset-Have to increase elevation


Quote:
Originally Posted by lifestooshort81
Hey Jazman!

I have my location information posted in my profile but I have my suspicions that when you use something like the iPhone app its not showing it!

<snip>

Thanks Much,
Al in new jersey
FYI it shows fine on my iPhone.

Evstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slate floor Thinset failing EdQuinn Flooring 11 05-21-2012 10:54 AM
How big of a gap in hardie board can I fill with thinset? Constant Improvement Flooring 8 03-21-2011 06:43 PM
How bad is CustomBlend thinset? TomServo Flooring 22 03-02-2011 05:52 PM
Is thinset always necessary? 123 Tiling, ceramics, marble 2 04-29-2010 07:01 PM
How thick a layer of thinset ? Piney Flooring 2 11-10-2006 02:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.