Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-25-2012, 11:20 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Wink

How to put down bathroom tile correctly

I am an amateur, all I have on the upstairs bathroom floor right now is 1/2" particle board. I want to lay down 1" thick 12"x12" tericotta tiles on the floor. Can I just lay the tile on the floor with the "Mortar with Polymer" or do I need to put down either the green backer board or the cement board first like I did the walls? Help, this is my first bathroom and maybe my last. Thanks for all the inputs I can get.....Pam

Last edited by pamusher; 06-25-2012 at 11:25 AM.
pamusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 11:26 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 134

Quote:
Originally Posted by pamusher View Post
I am an amateur, all I have on the upstairs bathroom floor right now is 1/2" particle board. I want to lay down 1" thick 12"x12" tericotta tiles on the floor. Can I just lay the on the floor with the Mortor with Polymer or do I need to put down either the green backer board or the cement board like I did the walls? Help, this is my first bathroom and maybe my last. Thanks for all the inputs I can get.....Pam

Tile can not be laid over partical board, it's all got to come out.
You also going to have to figure out what's below the subflooring to see if it will even work with tile.
You need to know the width of the floor joist, the spans, what's below the partical board.
No form of sheetrock is ever used as an underlaymant on a floor, walls only.
Thin set is what's used under the tile board and the tiles, not some form of glue.

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
pamusher (06-25-2012)
Old 06-25-2012, 11:39 AM   #3
DIY staff

Rewards Points: 46

You need 1/2" or 3/4" bc exposure one (exterior grade) plywood on top of the particle board