How To Get A Level Floor Out Of One That's Part Concrete And Part Wood - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-22-2009, 03:32 PM   #1
Always An Apprentice

Rewards Points: 10

How to get a level floor out of one that's part concrete and part wood

Hi, everybody. I'm a noob to this forum and have quite a few years worth of assisting in home improvement projects. In other words, I understand enough to make me dangerous, but when working with somebody that knows what they're doing, I'm great at following directions and a pretty good assistant.

Several years ago, my ex-husband and I built a new house around our 20X40 modular by: digging a footer that was just outside of both side walls, 6' in front of the front wall and 16' behind the back wall, resulting in a (basically) 42X42 house. When we split up (NO! NOT because of the remodel. ), we'd gotten this far:

-- finished outside (roof, walls, doors, windows, siding, soffit & facia installed)
-- old modular completely removed inside
-- completely insulated
-- master bath all but completed (finish trim, etc. not completed, but able to use all "facilities")
-- temporary kitchen set up
-- walls either studded out or studded & drywalled
-- enough semipermanent wiring to allow living in there safely

We were going to do as much of the work as possible -- he is a skilled woodworker, although it's not his profession -- as we could spare the time and money. But the marriage ended before we got very far.