Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-15-2012, 07:28 AM   #1

Share |

Help Laying Marble Floor Tile

I am wanting to lay marble floor tile in the foyer of a house we are renovating. I admit I have never laid floor tile before. I am relatively "handy," enjoy woodworking and working on cars, and have done several other jobs during our renovation. I am also a surgeon so have good attention to detail (ok....I'm a little obsessive-compulsive or anal) and am plenty intelligent to learn things. However, I have never laid tile.

I have 2 questions I would appreciate honest answers to:
1) Is it unreasonable for a person like myself to try to lay this tile? I have read about it and think it sounds like a job I can handle but I don't want to tackle it if laying tile is way too ambitious.
2) I will need to clip one corner of every tile. I know I need a wet saw to do this and that you can rent them. However, given the pace at which I will be working, random times, and the fact that for better or worse I hate renting and just like to buy things I would prefer to just buy the saw. What saw would you guys recommend? Any links to where I can buy them would be appreciated!

Thanks in advance for your help and advice!

DrDIYer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 07:47 AM   #2
DIY staff

We walk a lot of first time tilers through the job----

Marble requires a very stiff floor--so you need to tell us about the floor structure--

Marble is set with a narrow grout line---so the floor must be flat--very flat----

As to saws---those are 12x12 so an overhead cutting saw would be the first choice--
But almost any saw --bridge saw or under mount saw will do if equipped with a marble blade.

Old 12-15-2012, 08:54 AM   #3

Thank you very much for the response! I'm always appreciative of people like you guys who are willing to lend your expertise in these chatrooms.