Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2013, 12:32 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 64
Share |
Default

hardwood pre-stain conditioner???


is it necessary or just a gimmick?

thanks

wantboost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 11:11 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,727
Default

hardwood pre-stain conditioner???


Depends on what your staining. Hardwoods do not need it.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 11:49 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 64
Default

hardwood pre-stain conditioner???


Its hardwood not sure what type of wood though . Home is from the '70's
wantboost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 11:14 AM   #4
greetings from Bolivia
 
harrymontana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Posts: 74
Send a message via Skype™ to harrymontana
Default

hardwood pre-stain conditioner???


If you can put your nail into the wood it is not hardwood but softwood.
Staining is not really necessary unless you don't like the natural hardwood design of itself. However, sealing the boards is always a good idea, preventing the elements from entering and altering the wood (decay, cracking, twisting etc etc)
harrymontana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 11:10 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 64
Default

hardwood pre-stain conditioner???


so if its softwood what will the conditioner help do?
wantboost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 12:00 AM   #6
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,798
Default

hardwood pre-stain conditioner???


Ya know....a picture would help....as well as a description of what your staining....

Personally....I prefer pre-stain conditioner....it helps find the cut/sanding scratch marks I missed. Yes, it works better on soft woods...but also works on hardwoods....
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 07:53 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 194
Default

hardwood pre-stain conditioner???


Quote:
Originally Posted by wantboost View Post
so if its softwood what will the conditioner help do?
Reduces stain blotches. Makes for a more even color.

zakany is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to zakany For This Useful Post:
Dave Sal (03-13-2013), ddawg16 (03-12-2013)
Old 03-12-2013, 09:20 AM   #8
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,798
Default

hardwood pre-stain conditioner???


And...you can get a smoother finish....the conditioner raises the grain a little...knock that down with some 400 and you end up with a really nice surface.

__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Non Toxic quality hardwood floor stain EHB Flooring 2 10-16-2012 10:23 AM
Hardwood Floors and Stain btanner619 Flooring 0 10-14-2012 11:47 AM
Semi solid stain for hardwood deck woodguy00 Painting 8 07-10-2012 08:59 AM
Remove Hardwood Floor Stain Scully Flooring 4 12-12-2011 09:43 PM
Hardwood floors - stain left on too long! kmm110 Flooring 1 08-15-2011 12:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.