Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-08-2007, 12:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hardwood over Concrete


I have a semi-finished basement that I recently drywalled and did some adjustments to.There are a total of three rooms to it,one is a living area,one is an art room and the other a kitchen area.I currently have green carpeting covering the kitchen and living area, and I want to rip out the carpet in the kitchen and install hardwood.I have been reading articles online and it seems many subjective answers are being given.Some people say you'll need a vapour barrier and also glueing is necessary to do it right.Others say floating planks are fine and no underlayment is necessary at all.

I would like to use the floating method but I don't know how well it will work.If all I have to do is lay a vapour barrier down before installing then i'm perfectly fine with that,I just don't want to start messing with glue and nails,I want a nice and clean installation.

I won't start ripping out the carpet until I get some advice from you fine folks,I wouldn't want to be left with bare concrete and no fancy floor

PS:This is my first post,and I hope to stick around.It seems like a fine community to be a part of.Hopefully I can help some people around the forums and give some advice out thats worth taking.

SpunFree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 02:28 PM   #2
Home Improvement Guy
 
ron schenker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ontario, canada
Posts: 351
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Hardwood over Concrete


Quote:
I would like to use the floating method but I don't know how well it will work.If all I have to do is lay a vapour barrier down before installing then i'm perfectly fine with that,I just don't want to start messing with glue and nails,I want a nice and clean installation
I'm guessing that you mean clik and lok laminate flooring?
IMHO this would be my first choice in a basement. However, in a basement kitchen, I would prefer ceramic tile.

ron schenker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 03:10 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hardwood over Concrete


Hmm,well not exactly.I'm talking about real hardwood with a click and lock type mechanism where you can connect the pieces and let them float over the basefloor.The reason i'm using hardwood is because we have two cases full of it in our shed and there basically going to waste as our original plan was to replace carpet upstairs with it but then we decided against that idea.

Is hardwood pretty terrible to use in a basement?Is there a risk of it getting moldy?

The basement is older and since moving to our new residence i've been slowly touching it up and remodeling it.I've tiled a brick shelf and painted some cinderblocks and the floor onyx in the art room and now i'm focusing on the kitchen.

This is somewhat unrelated but I'm also thinking about redowing the inside shelves of the kitchen with some nice new sheet metal,does that sound feasible?

Sorry for all the questions,i'm just trying to gather all the information about this project as possible and I don't feel the need to go and make multiple threads about it.
SpunFree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 03:58 PM   #4
Home Improvement Guy
 
ron schenker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ontario, canada
Posts: 351
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Hardwood over Concrete


Two full cases is only around 40 sq.ft. Is that enough?
ron schenker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 06:40 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hardwood over Concrete


Yeah,it should be plenty.It's only a small walk-in kitchen,not anything too huge.
SpunFree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 01:20 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hardwood over Concrete


If it is engineered harwood it should be fine. Manufacturers will typically indicate if it can be installed below-grade or not. I am planning a similar project but on-grade & on concrete
bsun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 03:21 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hardwood over Concrete


Yeah thats what i'm worried about,it's solid wood not engineered.It's Bruce Hardwood,solid oak.

I guess i'll just lay it how I see fit and if it doesn't work I can always take it out,it's gonna be floating anyway.

I'm transferring it into the basement tonight and leaving it there for a couple days to get acclimated to the environment before installing.Last minute hints and tips are appreciated,thanks.

SpunFree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sleeve options for plumbing through concrete? Bruce L Plumbing 6 06-14-2008 10:38 AM
Hardwood over concrete slab El Buey Flooring 9 08-02-2007 08:42 AM
stone veneer formula tom1st Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 07-08-2006 05:48 PM
Hardwood in kitchen over concrete slab Markvonjinn Flooring 12 05-09-2006 10:37 AM
Need to expand existing concrete pad for A/C unit miketegra Building & Construction 2 07-03-2005 11:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.