Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-16-2008, 11:00 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

hardwood with no sub-floor?

Now, here is where I'm at in this project:

I've removed the carpet and am now sanding off the remaining stuck on padding and the paint that is on the floorboards. The floorboards look good enough so far, and I want to say that these are hardwood, but I am not an expert at how to tell. Or is this actually just the sub-floor i am looking at? Forgive me, I am a newbie. These boards are about 3 1/4" wide and 3/4" thick with tongue and groove joinery. One curious thing I found as I got into this project is that there is no plywood sub-floor under these boards, the existing boards being top nailed with flat head nails directly to the joists, so I am wondering if these boards are just a sub-floor themselves. This is my first floor project where I have ran into this(I obviously haven't done a lot of flooring projects!). If they actually are just meant to serve as a sub-floor I was thinking one of two things: either hardwood over top or maybe a laminate. What would be involved in either one of those installations?

Last edited by Rahci; 05-16-2008 at 11:46 PM.
Rahci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 04:53 PM   #2
Floating in the Gulf

Rewards Points: 25

You are going to have to keep asking here to be sure, but that is exactly how my house is made. Finished floorboards with no subfloor. But my house is OLD.

Good luck...

krankykitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 04:57 PM   #3
Mold!! Let's kill it!

Rewards Points: 2,012