DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Hardwood Nailer and Compressor - HorsePower/PSI or SCFM?

14K views 3 replies 3 participants last post by  hwood 
#1 ·
Hi,

I am a newbie at this, but am thinking of putting in stapled down hardwood in our kitchen. I got the HarborFreight hardwood nailer at a store (http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?Itemnumber=99640) today, and am trying to find the right compressor for the job.

I was in Sears today and the salesman tried to sell me a 4 Gallon 3/4 HP Pancake compressor (http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_...&+Air+Tools&sName=Air+Compressors+&+Inflators), saying it has enough PSI (125 max) to feed the nailer.

However, the nailer says it needs 4 SCFM at 90PSI. There is no mention of horsepower. The Sears compressor has a SCFM of 1.7 at 90PSI. I am not sure therefore if it is right for the job.
Could you please let me know your comments?

A bit about myself, I am a newbie at this. I probably will not need these tools once the kitchen is done. I will probably sell the nailer on Ebay, but think I will keep the compressor just in case I need to paint something later on or maybe with a small brad nailer etc for small work around the house. While searching on this forum (and elsewhere) for an answer, I realized that I should add that I probably won't need to operate the nailer continuously, a few minutes gap every 4-5 nails is totally OK.

Please do let me know your opinion. Also, if you have used this nailer, please let me know what you think of it.

Thanks.

See less See more
#2 ·
Personally, I think the nailer may last a job or two. I would not buy one that cheap for a living.(I think you will have a hard time selling it to break even) IMHO, Compressor should be fine. It will not be good enough to use for a paint spray gun.
If you are concerned about selling after, why don't you rent one at a tool rental place or even the box stores?

#3 ·