Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-26-2008, 07:13 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 250

Hardwood floors: Removal of carpet staples, dried paint, and a discoloration problem

I just ripped up some old carpet intending to buy new carpet, but fortunately I found hardwood floors underneath. The hardwood floors seem to be in good shape except for some color discoloration in the center of the room (I guess they had an area rug covering that area at one time), dried white paint splotches all over, and lots of heavy-duty carpet staples. What would be the best way to fix these issues? I've never worked on hardwood floors before. I've read some past threads and maybe I need to rent a floor sander to get the dried paint off? And with regard to the carpet staples, is there something I can use to pull them out easily without tearing up the floor? And lastly, although I like the overall color of the hardwood, there's still some serious color discoloration in the center, so I guess I use some sort of stain to cover all of the hardwood floor to give it a uniform color? And what about those nailed-down wood strips around the perimeter of the room? What tool is used to safely get those strips up? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 09:36 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 10

Hardwood floors: Removal of carpet staples, dried paint, and a discoloration problem

The strips come up easy, Just a hook knife to pop up the strips, Or a Lightest, strongest 18" pry bar " go slow, not to reck to floor. A pair of needlenose pliers or wire cutters is best for this. You may need a screwdriver or knife to help pry up the staples.

The paint on the floor will sand off with the discsander.

P.S look out for the little nails on the carpet strips, the prick good.

xkempx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 02:45 PM   #3