Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-09-2007, 09:00 PM   #1

Share |
Angry

Hardwood floor stripping problems

I am attempting to refinish the old hardwood floors in our house. They were covered with carpeting and I wanted to restore them to their original glory. They have taken abuse over the years and this leaves me with a few problems (it should be noted that I'm very new to this sort of thing). The room is very small but there are a number of various flooring "situations" I need to deal with in the stripping process:
- Bare wood floor that has never been stained, painted, or finished (this is the easiest to deal with obviously.
- Bare wood floor that has never been stained or finished but has been painted over with latex based paint (a travesty, I know).
- Wood floor that has been stained, finished, and then painted over with latex based paint (my current nightmare).

Here's how I initially attacked this. Using a heat gun I was able to quickly and quite effortlessly remove the latex paint from the areas of the floor that had been stained and finished. I tried this same approach with the bare wood floor that had been painted but not previously stained and finished and the work was a bit more difficult. To remove the stain and finish from the parts of the floor that are like this, I have attempted to use a chemical stripper (Zip Strip, and another product by Klean Strip).