Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-11-2005, 11:30 PM   #1

Share |

Hardwood Floor - Reversing Direction

I am planning to install a hardwood floor in two adjoining rooms with a perpendicular doorway and need advise on how to reverse the direction of my wood strips once I pass through that doorway. I can certainly understand working my way forward to the end of the second room but how do I then work my way back to the start of that room? (Probably a silly question to anyone who had done this type of project before, but.....I am new to this "fun"!) THANKS for your help.

PhilC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 12:28 AM   #2
renovations

If I understand you correctly, you start at the common doorway and nail through the tongue, add a course, nail, etc 'til the room is done. Then you come back to the start where you now have an exposed groove, and you turn it into a tongue using a spline that you cut on your table saw. Then you're off to the races. Did I answer the right question?

Bonus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 08:24 AM   #3

Thanks Bonus, I did not know if you had to make that piece (spline) yourself or is there was something on the market that did that job for me. Unfortunately, in my case the reversal will not take place in the doorway as the boards would be going from one room into the second through the doorway, perpendicular to it. Then I will have to work backwards through about half of the second room. Or, should I end the job at the doorway, put in a couple of boards the opposite way in the doorway, and start the second room on it's own?
PhilC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 10:00 PM   #4
renovations