Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-18-2012, 11:03 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 344
Share |
Default

Hardwood floor BRUCE E550


Hello

I bought a house and the owner has left 1 box of hardwood floor - BRUCE E550 3/8" x 5"
I want to install the same one in the family room that is adjacent to the foyer that has the same hardwood already installed
I want to do install float
I thought it was just "click it" but the spec says to put some glue on the groove and tongue....
Who could tell me exactly how to install that type of hardwood? I do not want to staple it or glue it on the floor.....
Thanks

french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 06:48 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 345
Default

Hardwood floor BRUCE E550


Most of this type of flooring can be floated by gluing at the tongue and groove or stapled using a bostich engineered stapler like this http://www.antonline.com/p_LHF2025K-...Fc5cMgodCnUAVw. Hope this helps.

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Awoodfloorguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:48 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 344
Default

Hardwood floor BRUCE E550


So glue is definitely required for floating installation?

Out of the 2 methods, which one is the "easiest"?
I do not own the stapler, so I would have to rent one + air compressor
french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 12:00 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 194
Default

Hardwood floor BRUCE E550


Quote:
Originally Posted by french_guy View Post
Out of the 2 methods, which one is the "easiest"?
I would staple. Less likely to accidentally mess it up. Wouldn't be floating, then.

You might want to consider buying a small compressor rather than renting. A pancake compressor can be quite useful to have around the house. You could also buy a stapler that converts to a regular stapler/nailer for general use (example).

A little compressor and an 18-gauge brad nailer makes putting up trim easy and quick, so it would be money well-spent.

Honestly, though, I've found nail-down installations to be just as easy as floating laminate or click-together flooring.

To answer your question, thin tongue-and-groove engineered wood is glued together to float it. I'd look at a sound-deadening underlayment so the floor doesn't sound hollow.

Can you see how the existing flooring is installed?

Last edited by zakany; 11-19-2012 at 12:06 PM.
zakany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 12:19 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 344
Default

Hardwood floor BRUCE E550


No, I cannot see if it was glued or stapled.....
I thought i would be more confident with the glueing process, and on top pf that it would spare the cost of the tools (compressor and stapler)
But maybe I should think harder, invest and go the staple option
What compressor would you recommend? Are those at Harbour Freight any good?
french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 07:49 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 344
Default

Hardwood floor BRUCE E550


OK, I have a 3 gal pancake compressor (Evolv, to tested it yet....bought on BlackFriday sale)
Now, I am ready for staple or floating installation
But I am reading and reading again the installation guide from BRUCE, and it's not clear to me on how to start the 1st and 2nd row !!!! Where should be the shalk line from the starting wall? As close as possible of the opposite wall?
Who could explain in detail, step by step or refer to a how to video link maybe?
french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 08:04 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,608
Default

Hardwood floor BRUCE E550


That type floor can be installed with just glue on the joints, it's done all the time over a slab floor.
Need a video, then check on You Tube.
The flooring needs room to expand and contract, when the seams are glued the whole floor expands and contracts as a unit.
http://www.armstrong.com/flooring/ha...ion-guides.asp
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 08:19 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 344
Default

Hardwood floor BRUCE E550


Yes, for the floating method, I know it has to be glued between groove and tongue.
It's the starting of the 2 first rows that is not so clear (to me at least...)

I will have to verify what my subfloor is.......I know the basement doesn't
extend under that room, but not sure if it's concrete or plywood
french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 08:33 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,608
Default

Hardwood floor BRUCE E550


Read what it's suggest to leave for a gap on the edges of the flooring for expantion, measure the width of the flooring, add the needed gap and there's your measurement to snap the line.
Your going to need to under cut all casing and door jambs before laying the floor so your not dealing with saw dust on the floor while laying it.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 02:23 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 194
Default

Hardwood floor BRUCE E550


Quote:
Originally Posted by french_guy View Post
OK, I have a 3 gal pancake compressor (Evolv, to tested it yet....bought on BlackFriday sale)
I have one of those crappy little pancake compressors, too. Works just fine, though, with my floor nailer (L-cleats through 3/4 hickory). Pretty useful thing to have, since you can use a brad nailer or finish nailer (helps with tirm installation), fill your car tires, blow out a dusty computer, etc.
zakany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 03:05 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 344
Default

Hardwood floor BRUCE E550


To be honest, I mainly bought it for the dusty computer(s)......
$52 shipped, with the brad nailer, not too bad anyway

french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing new hardwood ontop of existing hardwood benshouse Flooring 4 01-10-2014 12:45 PM
Infested hardwood flooring (how to prevent re-infestation) diyer_12 Pest Control 4 03-18-2012 07:37 PM
3/4 Hardwood Flooring over sufficient subfloor? bout time Flooring 3 06-20-2011 05:15 AM
Lay New Hardwood On Hold Hardwood TJfive0 Flooring 3 04-30-2011 05:50 PM
5 Ways to carry on your hardwood floor shining brightly John_smith Flooring 3 02-24-2009 11:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.