Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-22-2012, 09:44 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

hardwood floor

I am remodeling several units of a multi-unit complex. In one of the units, it has original hardwood floor under the carpet. is it better to remove the carpet and then refinish, stain the original hardwood or install laminates as this is a rental unit. this is my first project so I'm not sure of the maintenance, longevity of either.

dycremodel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 10:01 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 75

hardwood floor

It depends on the rental. Do you own it? Are we talking college kids or retirees or somewhere in between?

Total Tool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 10:56 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 10

hardwood floor

i do own it. they are all 2 bedroom 1 bath units. i am hoping to rent out to young professionals.
dycremodel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 12:04 AM   #4

Rewards Points: 25

hardwood floor